Site Navigation

Three Ivies Honored with NCAA Silver Anniversary Awards on Friday

Three Ivies Honored with NCAA Silver Anniversary Awards on Friday

Full story on

SAN DIEGO -- Yale graduate Earl Martin Phalen, Brown graduate George Pyne and Harvard women's ice hockey coach Katey Stone will be among the six honorees when the 2014 NCAA Silver Anniversary Award winners are saluted during Friday's Honors Celebration. 

The Ivy trio will be joined by former NFL quarterbacks Troy Aikman and Rodney Peete along with five-time Olympian Dara Torres. 

Phalen, a 1989 graduate with a degree in political science, credits being a member of the Yale University basketball team as playing a significant role in his successes as a student, and later, as a professional. He was a walk-on basketball player for Yale and made the varsity squad his junior year. Phalen is founder and CEO of Summer Advantage USA, a summer reading program that partners with school districts to provide quality summer learning programs for children in grades K-8. The program is one of only two scientifically validated models in the country and spurred federal legislation to replicate the model nationwide. Continuing his focus on education, Phalen founded the George and Veronica Phalen Leadership Academies, named for his parents. These academies are blended learning K-12 charter schools in Indiana, and they are projected to ultimately serve more than 10,000 students each year. Phalen is also the founder and CEO of Building Educated Leaders for Life, which operates summer and after-school education programs in major U.S. cities. The organization now educates 15,000 students annually. Among other achievements, Phalen was awarded the President’s Service Award in 1997 by President Clinton for outstanding community service. He is also a Mind Trust and Ashoka Fellow, was awarded the Black Entertainment Television Shine a Light Hero Award, and is a three-time recipient of Fast Company’s Social Capitalist Award.

Pyne, a two-year starter at offensive tackle and senior team captain for Brown University’s football team, was named to the All-Ivy League team in 1987 and the All-New England Team in 1988. A 1989 graduate with a degree in political science, was awarded the Paul K. Sloan Offensive Lineman Award in 1988. Following 11 years as CEO of NASCAR, where he oversaw the sport’s exponential growth, Pyne became president of IMG Sports and Entertainment, America’s leading collegiate multimedia, marketing and licensing company. He was named to the Sports Business Journal’s Hall of Fame and was recognized three times by Sports Business Journal’s “40 under 40.” Pyne was honored by Business Week, The Sporting News and Sports Business Journal as one of the most influential people in sports. Pyne served on the Brown University Advisory Council on Athletics from 2006-2009. He now coaches boys youth basketball and serves as a board member of the National Football Foundation, which seeks to promote leadership, sportsmanship, competitive zeal, and drive for academic excellence in America’s young people.

Stone was a four-year letterwinner in both lacrosse and ice hockey at University of New Hampshire. She was a member of the 1985 national championship team in lacrosse, a two-time All-American, and team captain in 1989. In ice hockey, Stone captained her team in 1989, and her team won the Eastern College Athletic Conference Championship in 1986 and 1987. Stone has gone on to coach Harvard University’s women’s ice hockey team and is the winningest coach in the history of Division I women’s ice hockey with 402 wins in 19 seasons. Her resume includes nine NCAA tournament appearances, including five Frozen Four appearances. Stone is now the head coach of the U.S. Olympic women’s ice hockey team, and she will be taking the team to the 2014 Sochi Olympics, making her the first woman to lead the U.S. national team into Olympic competition. Stone led the U.S. national team to a gold medal at the Four Nations Cup and a silver medal at the International Ice Hockey Women’s World Championships in 2009. She was named the United States College Hockey Online Coach of the Year in 2004-05 and is president of the American Women’s Hockey Coaches Association.