Site Navigation

Three Teams Celebrate National Championships at the White House

Three Teams Celebrate National Championships at the White House

Video (via

WASHINGTON -- President Barack Obama welcomed 19 NCAA Division I national championship teams from 2012-13 to the White House's South Lawn on Monday, including Princeton's field hockey, Princeton men's and women's fencing and Yale men's ice hockey teams.

The President addressed the group from a podium for about five minutes, congratulating them for their hard work and efforts. Teams also received a White House tour and photo opportunity with the President earlier in the day. The Yale squad was also entertained by Secretary of State John Kerry, a former multiple-sport athlete at Yale, while waiting for the President in the East Room.  

Also honored on Monday: Stanford women's tennis, Duke men’s lacrosse, Indiana men’s soccer, Oklahoma State men’s cross country, Alabama men’s golf, UC Irvine men’s volleyball, Colorado men’s cross country, Kansas women’s outdoor track and field, Minnesota women’s hockey, North Carolina women's lacrosse, North Carolina women’s soccer, Oklahoma softball, USC men’s water polo, USC women’s water polo, Virginia men’s tennis and West Virginia rifle.