Site Navigation

M. Dianne Murphy, Columbia Earn ECAC Recognitions

M. Dianne Murphy, Columbia Earn ECAC Recognitions

ECAC Releases:
Female Administrators of the Year | Institutions of the Year

Courtesy of Columbia Media Relations/Sports Information and ECAC

DANBURY, Conn. -- Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Commissioner Dr. Kevin T. McGinniss has announced Columbia Athletics Director Dr. M. Dianne Murphy was selected as one of three 2013-14 ECAC Female Administrators of the Year.

Murphy shares the accolade with Adelphi University Senior Associate Athletics Director Kate Whalen and William Smith College Athletics Director Deb Steward. All three will be honored at the 2014 ECAC Honors Dinner at the Sea Crest Beach Hotel in North Falmouth, Massachusetts.
The ECAC Female Administrators of the Year are presented annually to administrators from ECAC member schools in recognition of outstanding or meritorious service to the conference.
Murphy just completed her 10th year at the helm of Columbia Athletics. Columbia, the 2014 ECAC Institution of the Year, had four spring teams appear in NCAA Championships this past year, including the baseball team’s second Ivy League title in three years. Since the 2004-05 season, Murphy has overseen Ivy League Championships in 12 different sports.

In addition to the athletic success over her career, Murphy helped create the Columbia Athletics Hall of Fame, which began in 2006. In 2011, she was named to the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee and has also developed an elite leadership-training program aimed for college women’s basketball coaches. Prior to Columbia, Murphy was the Director of Athletics and Recreation at the University of Denver, where she led the Pioneers’ program from NCAA Division II to one of the top Division I athletics programs.

"I am thrilled to be honored by the ECAC as the Division I Female Administrator of the Year - and even more excited to see that our entire athletics program has received accolades for its incredible performance over the past year,” said Murphy.

Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Commissioner Dr. Kevin T. McGinniss announced Columbia University has been named the Division I recipient of the 2013-14 ECAC Jim Dougher Institution of the Year Award presented by Jostens.

Joining the Lions are Adelphi University (Division II), and Williams College (Division III). All three institutions will be recognized at the 2014 ECAC Honors Dinner on September 28th at the Sea Crest Beach Hotel in N. Falmouth, Massachusetts.

The ECAC Jim Dougher Institution of the Year is presented annually to the ECAC institutions that best exemplify the highest standards of athletic performance and collegiate academics. The selection process is based annually on participation and success of an institution's athletic program in recognition of the following selection criteria: documentation and confirmation of academic success by the institution’s student-athlete population, the number of ECAC championships won; number of institution's teams selected for participation in ECAC championships; and National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Learfield Sports Directors' Cup Points. The NACDA Director’s Cup points are based upon order of finish in NCAA sponsored championships.

On the way to its first-ever Institution of the Year Award, Columbia participated in 12 ECAC championships this past year. The Lions successful season was highlighted by winning both the 2013 Men’s and Women’s ECAC Indoor Tennis Championships. The women’s team defeated Yale 4-1 to capture the title, while the men’s team blanked Harvard, 4-0. Also finishing with 353.5 Director’s Cup points, the Lions had four spring teams make the NCAA Tournament, including both ECAC Champion tennis teams.

Not only successful in competition, Columbia fielded 30 student-athletes to Academic All-Ivy League Teams this past year.

With 17.54 total points, Columbia edged Princeton (16.11) and Harvard (15.65), who finished second and third respectively.

"Over the past decade, we have made tremendous investments in the People, Places and Programs which impact our athletics program,” said Columbia Athletics Director Dr. M. Dianne Murphy. “Seeing our teams achieve and sustain success is so gratifying, and a wonderful testament to all of those who have stood behind us through the years.”

About the ECAC
: In the 75 years since its inception, the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) has emerged as the nation's largest Conference. The ECAC has grown considerably from its charter membership of 58, currently boasting over 300 member schools in Divisions I, II and III, ranging in location from Maine to South Carolina, and westerly to Missouri.  In the 2014-15 academic year, the ECAC will host nearly 100 championships in 37 men's and women's sports as the sponsors of over 5,800 varsity teams and 111,000 male and female athletes. For more information, visit