Site Navigation

Forty-Seven Football Ivies Named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Forty-Seven Football Ivies Named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

NFF Release

Courtesy of the National Football Foundation

IRVING, Texas -- The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced 47 Ivy League football student-athletes as members of the 2013 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career.

A total of 703 players from 259 schools qualified for membership in the society's seventh year, marking the highest school participation in the history of the program, which began in 2007. 

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's current National Scholar-Athlete program greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the more than 700 college and universities with football programs nationwide. The initiative has honored 4,081 student-athletes since its inception.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include:

• Being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university;

• Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and

• Meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements and graduation.

The Hampshire Honor Society represents a powerful component in the organization's rich history as an innovator in promoting the scholar-athlete ideal. Launched in 1959 with a donation from Hall of Fame coach Earl "Red" Blaik, the NFF's National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments, became the first initiative in history to grant postgraduate scholarships based on a player's combined academic success, football performance and community leadership. And, since its inception, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards program has awarded $10.1 million to 771 top scholars and community leaders. 

Ivy League Student-Athletes Named to the 2013 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

Brown (14) -- Malcolm Andry, Demitrius Burnett, Daniel Casey, Patxi Colbern, Anthony Franciosi, Alexander Harris, Nathaniel Meyer, Matthew Miller, Benjamin Noury, Adam Pelzer, Jack Templeton, Spiro Theodhosi, Ross Walthall, Stephen Zambetti

Columbia (2) -- Greg Lee and Mike Waller

Dartmouth (4) -- Mick Davis, Justin Foley, Patrick Lahey and Garrett Wymore

Harvard (15) -- John Collins, Jim Deng, Jacob Dombrowski, Jack Holuba, Matt Lunati, John Lyon, Jonathan Mason, Reid McCann, Alexander Norman, Adam Riegel, Anthony Russ, Treavor Scales, Bobby Schneider, Grant Sickle and Rich Zajeski

Princeton (3) -- Joe Cloud, Tim Kingsbury and Jason Tiemeier

Yale (9) -- Michael Anderson, Kenneth Bibb, Christopher Dooley, William McHale, Weston Moyer, John Powers, John Runk, Derek Russell and Kurt Stottlemyer