Site Navigation

Four Football Ivies Receive Recognition on FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team

Four Football Ivies Receive Recognition on FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team

FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team

Portions courtesy of NACDA

CLEVELAND -- Four Ivy League football student-athletes were among the 43 winners of the 16th annual Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) Academic All-Star Team  with Dartmouth senior Michael Runger named one of seven finalists for 13th Annual FCS ADA's $5,000 Postgraduate Scholarships.

Runger, along with Big Green classmate Cole Marcoux, Harvard's Cameron Brate and Yale's Beau Palin, were named to the team, which included football players from all Football Championship Subdivision institutions. Each of the nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. He must have reached his second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. He must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at his designated position.

Two of the seven finalists student-athletes will receive postgraduate scholarships during the Association's annual membership meeting held in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention, being held at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Fla., June 9-12.

Joining Runger as finalists were Fordham's Brett Biestek, Montana State's Tanner Bleskin, Nicholls State's Jordan Hanberry, Liberty's Scott Hyland, Coastal Carolina's Niccolo Mastromatteo and Southern Illinois' Austin Pucylowski.

"The FCS ADA is honored to present this prestigious award to our football student-athletes each year," stated FCS ADA President Brian Hutchinson, director of athletics, Morehead State University. "Each year, these young men epitomize the definition of student-athlete, both in the classroom and on the field. Our Association is pleased to recognize their accomplishments annually."

A special Review Committee of Football Championship Subdivision athletics directors was responsible for selecting the all-star team and scholarship finalists. Completing this task were Hutchinson (chair), Southern Utah's Ken Beazer, Appalachian State's Charlie Cobb, Youngstown State's Ron Strollo and Idaho State's Jeff Tingey.