Site Navigation

The Ivy League, National Football Foundation to Co-Host Bushnell Cup Presentation for Fifth-Straight Year

2013 Asa S. Bushnell Cup Recipients: Harvard's Zach Hodges (Defensive Player of the Year) and Princeton's Quinn Epperly (Offensive Player of the Year)
2013 Asa S. Bushnell Cup Recipients: Harvard's Zach Hodges (Defensive Player of the Year) and Princeton's Quinn Epperly (Offensive Player of the Year)

IRVING, Texas and PRINCETON, N.J. -- The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) and the Ivy League are partnering for the fifth-consecutive year to co-host the presentation of the Asa S. Bushnell Cup, which honors the Ivy League Football Players of the Year, on Monday, Dec. 8 as part of the festivities surrounding the NFF Annual Awards Dinner in New York City.

The Asa S. Bushnell Cup will be presented the day before the 57th NFF Annual Awards Dinner, at a special press conference and reception in the Vanderbilt Room of the famed Waldorf Astoria Hotel at 12:30 p.m. ET. This year will mark the fourth year that the Ivy League will recognize both offensive and defensive players of the year, honoring both as Bushnell Cup recipients from their respective sides of play. The 2014 Bushnell Cup finalists will be announced on Tuesday, Dec. 2.

Two offensive and two defensive finalists along with their respective head coaches will be on hand as Ivy League Executive Director Robin Harris unveils the winners’ names in front of a packed crowd of media representatives, NFF Board members and Ivy League football alumni, dignitaries and friends.

"Our partnership with the National Football Foundation gives the Ivy League an invaluable platform to showcase the successes of student-athletes who embody the rich traditions of the Ivy League," said Harris. "We are thrilled to team up with the NFF once again to present Ivy League football as a part of a week-long celebration that salutes gridiron greats, past and present."    

"We are extremely proud to join forces with the Ivy League for a fifth year, co-hosting this Bushnell Cup presentation," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "The event has become a resounding success, attracting a packed room to honor the recipients who truly represent the scholar-athlete ideal. It is a great honor for our organization to play a role in this presentation."

Presented annually since 1970, the Asa S. Bushnell Cup honors its namesake, a 1921 Princeton alumnus and the commissioner of the Eastern College Athletic Conference from 1938 to 1970. The Bushnell Cup is awarded by a vote of the Ivy League's eight head football coaches to the players who display outstanding qualities of leadership, competitive spirit, contribution to the team and accomplishments on the field.

Asa S. Bushnell Cup All-Time Recipient List
1970 - Jim Chasey, QB, Dartmouth & Ed Marinaro, RB, Cornell
1971 - Ed Marinaro, RB, Cornell
1972 - Dick Jauron, RB, Yale
1973 - Jim Stoeckel, QB, Harvard
1974 - Walt Snickenberger, RB, Princeton
1975 - Doug Jackson, RB, Columbia
1976 - John Pagliaro, RB, Yale
1977 - John Pagliaro, RB, Yale
1978 - Buddy Teevens, QB, Dartmouth
1979 - Tim Tumpane, LB, Yale
1980 - Kevin Czinger, MG, Yale
1981 - Rich Diana, RB, Yale
1982 - John Witkowski, QB, Columbia
1983 - Derrick Harmon, RB, Cornell
1984 - Tim Chambers, DB, Penn
1985 - Tom Gilmore, DT, Penn
1986 - Rich Comizio, RB, Penn
1987 - Kelly Ryan, QB, Yale
1988 - Jason Garrett, QB, Princeton
1989 - Judd Garrett, RB, Princeton
1990 - Shon Page, RB, Dartmouth
1991 - Al Rosier, RB, Dartmouth
1992 - Jay Fiedler, QB, Dartmouth
1993 - Keith Elias, RB, Princeton
1994 - Pat Goodwillie, LB, Penn
1995 - Dave Patterson, LB, Princeton
1996 - Chad Levitt, RB, Cornell
1997 - Sean Morey, WR, Brown
1998 - Jim Finn, RB, Penn
1999 - James Perry, QB, Brown
2000 - Gavin Hoffman, QB, Penn
2001 - Carl Morris, WR, Harvard
2002 - Carl Morris, WR, Harvard
2003 - Mike Mitchell, QB, Penn
2004 - Ryan Fitzpatrick, QB, Harvard
2005 - Nick Hartigan, RB, Brown
2006 - Jeff Terrell, QB, Princeton
2007 - Mike McLeod, RB, Yale
2008 - Chris Pizzotti, QB, Harvard
2009 - Buddy Farnham, WR, Brown & Jake Lewko, LB, Penn
2010 - Gino Gordon, RB, Harvard & Nick Schwieger, RB, Dartmouth
2011 - Offensive Player of the Year: Jeff Mathews, QB, Cornell
           Defensive Player of the Year: Josue Ortiz, DT, Harvard
2012 - Offensive Player of the Year: Colton Chapple, QB, Harvard
           Defensive Player of the Year: Mike Catapano, DL, Princeton
2013 - Offensive Player of the Year: Quinn Epperly, QB, Princeton
           Defensive Player of the Year: Zach Hodges, DE, Harvard

The following evening on Tuesday, Dec. 9, the NFF will stage its 57th Annual Awards Dinner also at the Waldorf Astoria. As the culmination of the regular season, the event provides the stage for the induction of the 2014 College Football Hall of Fame Class; the presentation of the 2014 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments; and the bestowing of the 25th NFF William V. Campbell Trophy to the nation’s top scholar-athlete.

This year's Hall of Fame class includes Dre Bly (North Carolina), Tony Boselli (Southern California), Dave Butz (Purdue), Shane Conlan (Penn State), Joe Hamilton (Georgia Tech), John Huard (Maine), Darrin Nelson (Stanford), Willie Roaf (Louisiana Tech), John Sciarra (UCLA), Sterling Sharpe (South Carolina), Leonard Smith (McNeese State), the late Derrick Thomas (Alabama), LaDainian Tomlinson (TCU), Wesley Walls (Mississippi) and coaches Mike Bellotti (Oregon, Chico State [Calif.]) and Jerry Moore (Appalachian State, North Texas and Texas Tech).

The first organization in history to provide post-graduate scholarships based on a player's combined academic, athletic and leadership abilities, the NFF also utilizes the event’s national stage to distribute $300,000 to the winners of the highly sought-after NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards. The scholar-athlete class will be announced on the last Thursday in October. During the event, one member of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete class will be declared, in dramatic fashion, the winner of the coveted William V. Campbell Trophy as the nation’s top scholar-athlete from all divisions of play.

Seven NFF National Scholar-Athletes have claimed the Bushnell Cup: Dick Jauron (Yale, 1972), Kevin Czinger (Yale, 1980), Richard Diana (Yale, 1981), Tom Gilmore (Pennsylvania, 1985), Keith Elias (Princeton, 1993), Nick Hartigan (Brown, 2005) and Jeff Mathews (Cornell, 2011). Ed Marinaro (Cornell, 1970 and 1971) is the only past recipient inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. Jauron has been on the ballot for induction for the past several years. Several past Bushnell Cup recipients currently hold impressive coaching positions, including: Dallas Cowboys head coach Jason Garrett (Princeton, 1988), Dallas Cowboys Director of Pro Scouting Judd Garrett (Princeton, 1989), Holy Cross head coach Tom Gilmore (Penn, 1985), Princeton offensive coordinator James Perry (Brown, 1999) and Dartmouth head coach Buddy Teevens (Dartmouth, 1978).

The NFF Major Awards will also be presented during the 57th NFF Annual Awards Dinner. The 2014 recipients include world-renowned doctor and former Brown All-American defensive lineman Tom Catena and accomplished venture capitalist George Weiss (NFF Gold Medal), sports marketing pioneer Jim Host (NFF Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football Award), Duke University Vice President and Director of Athletics Dr. Kevin White (NFF John L. Toner Award for excellence in athletics administration), former University of Michigan play-by-play announcer on the Michigan IMG Radio Network Frank Beckmann (NFF Chris Schenkel Award for excellence in broadcasting) and the yet-to-be announced recipient of the NFF Distinguished American Award.