Site Navigation

Men's Basketball All-Ivy -- 2010-11

Men's Basketball All-Ivy -- 2010-11

Complete 2010-11 Men's Basketball All-Ivy Release

PRINCETON, N.J. -- The names receiving Ivy League men's basketball postseason honors following the 2010-11 season are ones to remember because the majority have eligibility remaining and will be back on Ivy hardwoods for the 2011-12 season.

The League's Player of the Year and four of the five players on each of the first and second teams earning All-Ivy honors return next year for their respective teams.

Headlining the list was Harvard junior forward Keith Wright (Suffolk, Va.), voted Player of the Year and unanimous first-team All-Ivy by the League's head coaches, who led the Crimson to a share of its first-ever Ivy title. Wright was the first Harvard player to win the honor since Joe Carrabino in 1983-84. He had a strong presence on both ends of the floor for Harvard, leading the team scoring at 14.9 points per game (third in the League) and rebounds with 8.5 boards per contest (second in the League). Wright paced the Ancient Eight in field goal percentage, connecting on 58.8 percent of his shots on the floor, and was second in double-doubles with 12. On the defensive end, he averaged 1.8 blocks per game for the season and 2.1 in Ivy only games, both good for second in the League.

Princeton boasted a strong defensive presence of its own in senior forward Kareem Maddox (Oak Park, Calif.), who earned Defensive Player of the Year honors and was also a unanimous first-team All-Ivy selection. Maddox was a matchup nightmare for opponents all year, able to guard players both on the perimeter and in the paint. In the paint, Maddox recorded 52 blocks this season, which only falls behind Chris Young, who had 55 blocks as a rookie in 1998-99 and 90 as a sophomore in 1999-2000, in the Princeton record books. With 104 career swats, he was the third Tiger since the block stat began being recorded regularly in 1975-76 to record 100 career blocks, alongside Young (145) and Rick Hielscher (159). When he was not giving the opposing players problems, Maddox was an offensive force, leading the Tigers in scoring at 14.0 points and in rebounding at 6.9 caroms per game. His offensive numbers were even better in League only games at 14.9 points and 7.5 rebounds per game.

Defense was definitely the common theme throughout the unanimous first-team selections with Yale junior center Greg Mangano (Orange, Conn.) garnering the third unanimous nod. Mangano was the man in the middle for the Bulldogs, leading the League in rebounding (10.0 rpg) and blocks (3.0 bpg) and was second in scoring average at 16.3 points per game. He also was tops among the Ivies in both categories in League play (18.6 ppg, 10.4 rpg). He was the first Yale player to average a double-double for the season since Chris Dudley (17.6 ppg, 13.3 rpg) in 1986-87 and the first Ivy player since Harvard's Kyle Snowden (15.1 ppg, 11.1 rpg in all games, 14.1 ppg, 10.8 rpgin Ivy games) in 1995-96. In addition, Mangano had a school record 85 blocks, which is the third-most in Ivy history. His 51 blocks in League games was an Ivy record as well.

The focus for Rookie of the Year turned to offense but the outcome was the same, a unanimous choice. Brown freshman guard Sean McGonagill (Brookfield, Ill.) tickled the twine often for the Bears in his rookie season, averaging 11.8 points per game. Brown's floor general throughout most of the season, McGonagill finished the season with 147 assists, the third-best, single-season total in school history. The signature moment of McGonagill's freshman season came on Feb. 4 vs. Columbia when he turned in a record-setting performance with 39 points on 15-of-19 shooting from the field, while handing out six assists, grabbing four rebounds and playing all 40 minutes in a win over Lions. Fourty-eight hours prior to that amazing effort, he collided with two teammates in a chase for a loose ball at practice. He came away with a severely lacerated front lip that required plastic surgery and 20 stitches, along with some major dental work. McGonagill sat out practice the day before the game while recovering from the trauma. He was fitted with a protective mask on the morning of the game and took the court against that evening, putting up a career effort. McGonagill joins Mike Waitkus (1982-83), Carlos Williams (1989-90) and Damon Huffman (2003-04) as Brown's Ivy Rookie selections.

Offense was also the calling card for the two other first-team All-Ivy honorees, ironically a pair of junior guards -- Columbia's Noruwa Agho (New City, N.Y.) and Penn's Zack Rosen (Colonia, N.J.).

Agho was the only Ivy League player to finish in the top 10 in scoring (1st, 16.8 ppg), rebounding (10th, 4.9 per rpg) and assists (5th, 4.3 apg). He finished second on the team in rebounding, steals, blocked shots and three-point field goals. He first Columbia player to earn first-team honors since John Baumann in 2007-08.

Earning first-team honors for a second-straight season, Rosen was just the 17th player in school history to earn multiple first-team All-Ivy recognition. He finished the season averaging a team-leading 14.3 points per game. In Ivy play, he finished 12th in scoring (13.1 ppg) and was second in assists per game (6.2) while averaging a League-high 37.4 minutes per contest. Rosen finished in the top five in three other offensive categories. He ended the season with 152 assists, a career best and fourth in a single season at Penn.

Princeton senior forward Dan Mavraides (San Mateo, Calif.), one of four Tigers to average in double figures in scoring this season, was the lone senior voted second-team All-Ivy. Cornell junior guard Chris Wroblewski (Highland Park, Ill.) also received second-team selection along with a trio of sophomores -- Harvard's Kyle Casey (Medway, Mass.) and Brandyn Curry (Huntersville, N.C.) and Princeton's Ian Hummer (Vienna, Va.).

Player of the Year
Keith Wright, Harvard (Jr., F, Suffolk, Va.)

Rookie of the Year
*Sean McGonagill, Brown (Fr., G, Brookfield, Ill.)

Defensive Player of the Year
Kareem Maddox, Princeton (Sr., F, Oak Park, Calif.)

First Team All-Ivy
Noruwa Agho, Columbia (Jr., G, New City, N.Y.)
*Keith Wright, Harvard (Jr., F, Suffolk, Va.)
Zack Rosen, Penn (Jr., G, Colonia, N.J.)
*Kareem Maddox, Princeton (Sr., F, Oak Park, Calif.)
*Greg Mangano, Yale (Jr., C, Orange, Conn.)

Second Team All-Ivy
Chris Wroblewski, Cornell (Jr., G, Highland Park, Ill.)
Kyle Casey, Harvard (So., F, Medway, Mass.)
Brandyn Curry, Harvard (So., G, Huntersville, N.C.)
Ian Hummer, Princeton (So., F, Vienna, Va.)
Dan Mavraides, Princeton (Sr., G, San Mateo, Calif.)

Honorable Mention All-Ivy
Tucker Halpern, Brown (So., F, Brookline, Mass.)
Brian Barbour, Columbia (So., G, Alamo, Calif.)
Christian Webster, Harvard (So., G, Washington, D.C.)
Jack Eggleston, Penn (Sr., F, Noblesville, Ind.)

* - Unanimous Selection