Site Navigation

Penn's Rosen Named Among 20 Finalists for the 2012 Bob Cousy Award

Penn's Zack Rosen
Penn's Zack Rosen

Portions courtesy of the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame and Penn Athletic Communications

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. -- Penn senior Zack Rosen was among the 20 players listed as finalists for the 2012 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award.

The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in college basketball. An original list of 65 candidates was trimmed by a Hall of Fame appointed, nationally-based committee to the below list of 20 student-athletes.

Rosen is the only Ivy League or Philadelphia Big 5 point guard left on the list. The original list contained three other Ivy point guards (Columbia's Brian Barbour, Cornell's Chris Wroblewski and Harvard's Brandyn Curry).

Rosen has certainly had a season worthy of this consideration. Most recently, in Wednesday night's 78-73 win at Lafayette he had four assists which made him Penn's all-time leader in that category, with 506. (The previous record-holder was Rosen's current head coach, Jerome Allen, with 505.) Rosen also had 24 points to lead all scorers, hitting for three-pointers and going 4-of-4 from the foul line.

In the latest NCAA statistics, released earlier this week, Rosen was ninth in free-throw percentage (.919), 18th in assists per game (6.2), and 29th in scoring (19.1 ppg). He has scored in double figures in 14 of Penn's 15 games including eight outings with 20 or more points.

Among Ivy League players, Rosen entered the week leading the way in scoring, assists per game, and minutes per game (38.3). He also was second in free-throw percentage to Yale's Austin Morgan.

“This list of 20 candidates consists of college basketball’s elite point guards,” said John L. Doleva, President & CEO of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. “Through the first few months of the season, these floor generals have demonstrated incredible leadership, court vision and toughness that epitomizes the legacy of Mr. Cousy.”

“The talent level among our 20 finalists demonstrates the competitiveness at the point guard position in college basketball this year,” said Ken Kauffman, Chair of the 2012 Bob Cousy Award. “As we move through the next rounds to our final award-winner, it will clearly be a difficult decision to select one player from this elite group.”

The current listing of 20 finalists for the 2012 Bob Cousy Award will be narrowed down to 10 players in early February and then down five players by early March. The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. This Hall of Fame committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2012 Bob Cousy Award will be awarded at the Hall of Fame’s Class

Announcement on Monday, April 2 in New Orleans as part of NCAA Final Four weekend. Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (Saint Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A&M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland) and last year’s recipient Kemba Walker (Connecticut).