Site Navigation

Harvard's Amaker Receives NABC, NSSA Coach of the Year Honors

Harvard's Amaker Receives NABC, NSSA Coach of the Year Honors

NABC Press Release | NSSA Press Release

Portions courtesy of Harvard Athletic Communications

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. -- After guiding Harvard to its second-straight NCAA Tournament appearance, head coach Tommy Amaker has received two Coach of the Year Honors as Clarence "Big House" Gaines College Basketball Coach of the Year in Division I by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association & Hall of Fame (NSSA) and the District 13 Co-Coach of the Year by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC).

The NSSA recognized Amaker and Livingstone College's James Stinson in Division II as the top minority college basketball coaches in the third year of the award which honors Gaines, who served as head coach at Winston-Salem State for 47 years. The NABC honored Amaker in District 13 with Bucknell's Dave Paulsen.

Amaker was also recently named a finalist for the Ben Jobe Award, which is presented annually to the top minority coach in Division I men's basketball.

Amaker is coming off his his sixth year at the helm of the Crimson. He led Harvard to a 20-10 overall record and a 11-3 mark in the Ivy League, as the Crimson claimed its third-straight conference crown. The Crimson went 13-1 at home during the regular season, including a 7-0 mark at Lavietes Pavilion against Ivy League opponents.

Following the regular season, Harvard advanced to its second-consecutive NCAA Tournament and made even more history. The No. 14 seed Crimson upset third-seed New Mexico, 68-62, in the second round, earning the program's first victory in the NCAA tournament.

Under Amaker's leadership, sophomore guard/forward Wesley Saunders and freshman guard Siyani Chambers were tabbed to first-team All-Ivy, with Chambers also garnering Ivy League Rookie of the Year honors. Chambers became the first freshman in conference history to be named to the All-Ivy first team.

Moreover, three Ivies were named NABC first-team All-District, as Princeton's Ian Hummer joined Harvard's Saunders and Chambers on the District 13 squad.