Site Navigation

Harvard, Yale Lightweights Capture 2011 IRA National Championships

Harvard, Yale Lightweights Capture 2011 IRA National Championships

Results | Coverage

Portions courtesy of Harvard Athletic Communications and Yale Sports Publicity

CHERRY HILL, N.J. -- Ivy League crews captured lightweight gold at the the 109th IRA National Championship Regatta on the Cooper River in Cherry Hill, N.J., with Yale winning the varsity eight title and Harvard cruising to the varsity four title.

Heading into the final stretch of the lightweights' varsity grand final, Yale and Harvard was neck and neck with Dartmouth close behind and open water back to Cornell. Dartmouth continued to fade as Yale sprinted to the line with what looked to be a one-seat lead on Harvard. At the finish line it appeared to be advantage Yale, but neither the Bulldogs nor the Crimson threw their hands up in celebration.  After regatta officials consulted video of the finish Yale was declared the winner and national champions, by a margin of just 0.02 seconds.

Harvard's lightweight varsity four was more than four seconds better than the rest of the national field. The Crimson started with the top half of the pack. Princeton and Navy stayed with Harvard for the first 500 meters, but the Crimson pulled away from both, first the Tigers and then the Midshipmen, in the next 500. The lead increased over the second half of the race, and Harvard posted a winning time of 6:28.562, with Princeton taking silver and Cornell earning bronze.

Ivy boats grabbed silver in the heavyweight races as Harvard finished second to Washington in both the first and second varsity eight grand final and Brown finished second, also to the Huskies, in the varsity four final.

League teams also had second-place showings for the team trophies as Harvard finished just behind Washington for the Jim Ten Eyck Memorial Trophy while Princeton finished second to Wisconsin for the Clayton W. Chapman Trophy.

2011 IRA National Championships - Jim Ten Eyck Memorial Trophy (Team Championship) 

  School Points
1. Washington 195
2. Harvard 184
3. California 173
4. Princeton 155
5. Brown 142
6. Wisconsin 138
7. Cornell 135
8. Boston University
9. Yale 99
10. Navy 97
11. Syracuse 92
12. Stanford 85
13. Dartmouth 67
14. Penn 48
15. Columbia 47
16. Georgetown 35
17. Gonzaga 31
18. UC San Diego 26


2011 IRA National Championships - Clayton W. Chapman Trophy (Team Point Improvement) 

Point Differenical from
2010 Championships
1. Wisconsin 43
2. Princeton 39
3. Navy 25
4. Yale 23
5. Stanford 21
6. Harvard 19
7. Penn 6
8. Washington 2
9. California -7
10. Brown -12
11. Dartmouth -12
12. Boston University
13. Syracause -27
14. Cornell -32
15. Columbia -43