Site Navigation

Cornell's Kerber, Lightweight Varsity Eight Capture IRA Honors

Cornell men's lightweight head coach Chris Kerber
Cornell men's lightweight head coach Chris Kerber

Portions courtesy of the Intercollegiate Rowing Association and Cornell Athletic Communications

CENTERVILLE, Mass. --- Cornell's men's lightweight varsity eight was named the Crew of the Year and Big Red head coach Chris Kerber was tabbed as the Coach of the Year for 2013-14 by the Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) Board of Stewards.

It marks the first IRA Crew of the Year honor for Cornell and the first IRA Coach of the Year award for Kerber, who just completed his sixth season in Ithaca.

Cornell's lightweights completed an undefeated season with the program's fifth national championship and first since 2008 at the 2014 regatta. The Big Red previously took the 1922 Trophy as the Men's Lightweight Varsity Eight winner in 1992, 2006, 2007 and 2008. Cornell edged Harvard by .54 of a second, earning its second-ever undefeated IRA national championship. This is the institution's first-ever IRA Crew of the Year honor.

The Big Red began the 2014 campaign ranked No. 4 nationally, ascended to the No. 1 position on April 23 and did not relinquish the distinction for the remainder of the season. 

Cornell won its first Ivy League championship since 2008 for its ninth title in program history, and then took the Jope Cup for the fifth time at EARC Sprints before taking gold at the IRA National Championship earlier this month at Mercer Lake in West Windsor, N.J.