Site Navigation

Fifty-Three Ivy Fencers Set For 2011 NCAA Championships

Championships Schedule

2011 Championship Groups

Live Results

PRINCETON, N.J. -- Fifty-three Ivy League student-athletes are set to chase individual and team glory at the 2011 National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Fencing Championships on March 24-27 in Columbus, Ohio. The Ohio State University will play host to the championships at the French Field House and St. John Arena. The men’s qualifiers will fence on Thursday and Friday, followed by the women on Saturday and Sunday.

Leading the way for the Ivies, Princeton will send 12 fencers to the championships, followed by Harvard, which qualified 11 fencers. Columbia and Penn will have nine fencers apiece at the event, while five each from Yale and Brown will help to comprise the field. Cornell, which only sponsors women’s fencing, will send two foilists to the championships.

The National Collegiate Men’s and Women’s Fencing Championships include individual events in each of the six weapons: men’s foil, men’s epee, men’s sabre, women’s foil, women’s epee, women’s sabre.

Fencers will compete in a round-robin format of five-touch bouts. After the round-robin, the top-four fencers fence semifinal 15-touch bouts, with the winners fencing to determine first and second places, and the losers being awarded a tie for third place. Top-four finishers earn first team All-America status, while the first place finisher is also named the 2011 NCAA Champion in that weapon. Absolute ties for the final-four seeding will be broken as follows: for positions one through three, by a coin toss; for position four, by a fence-off.

The National Champion and each institution’s subsequent place finish in the championships will be based on points earned by each individual fencer. A team will be awarded one point for each victory by its student-athletes for the duration of the championships.

Among the Ivies, Princeton - with the maximum 12 qualified fencers – has the best mathematical chance at claiming the 2011 national title, as only Notre Dame and Ohio State also qualified the maximum 12 fencers. Harvard, which qualified 11 fencers, could also find itself in the national title race because only three teams are sending 12 fencers. Since the NCAA added women’s sabre to the fencing championships in 2000, teams sending 12 fencers to the NCAAs have won 10 of the 11 championships contested (the only exception was in 2005 when Notre Dame won the title with 11 qualifiers).

Last season, Harvard finished fifth (137 points) to lead the Ivies, followed by sixth-place Princeton (135), seventh-place Columbia (98) and eighth-place Penn (81). On the individual level, Harvard women’s sabreist Caroline Vloka will have a chance to defend her 2010 title, which was earned with a 15-13 win over Duke’s Rebecca Ward, who is also back in the 2011 championship field.

Ivy League 2011 NCAA Championship Qualifiers

Men’s Epee
Alen Hadzic, Columbia
James Hawrot, Harvard
Mike Raynis, Harvard     
Clifford Fishler, Penn         
Jacob Wischnia, Penn         
Mike Elfassy, Princeton    
Jonathan Yergler, Princeton
Peter Cohen, Yale

Men’s Foil
Bo Charles, Columbia         
Alexander Pensler, Columbia     
Tommaso DiRobilant, Harvard
Lucas Lin, Harvard
Vidur Kapur, Penn
Robert Malcolm, Princeton
Alexander Mills, Princeton
Nathaniel Botwinick, Yale
Shiv Kachru, Yale

Men’s Sabre
Teddy Weller, Brown
Melvin Rodriguez, Columbia
Thomas Kolasa, Harvard
Valentin Staller, Harvard
Michael Mills, Penn
Evan Prochniak, Penn
Philip Dershwitz, Princeton     
John Stogin, Princeton

Women’s Epee
Cory Abbe, Brown
Katya English, Columbia     
Lydia Kopecky, Columbia
Noam Mills, Harvard
Felicia Sun, Harvard     
Amrit Bhinder, Penn
Gabriella Foor, Penn
Phoebe Caldwell, Princeton
Hannah Safford, Princeton
Tasha Garcia, Yale

Women’s Foil
Kathryn Hawrot, Brown
Avery Nackman, Brown
D’Meca Homer, Columbia     
Christine McIntosh, Cornell
April Whitney, Cornell
Kathy Chou, Harvard
Alexandra Kiefer, Harvard
Eve Levin, Princeton     
HK Yuh, Princeton     

Women’s Sabre
Caitlin Taylor, Brown
Loweye Diedro, Columbia
Samantha Roberts, Columbia
Caroline Vloka, Harvard
Dominika Franciszkowicz, Penn
Danielle Kamis, Penn
Eliza Stone, Princeton
Diamond Wheeler, Princeton
Madeline Oliver, Yale