Site Navigation

Columbia's Cottingham to Receive NCAA Silver Anniversary Award

Columbia's Cottingham to Receive NCAA Silver Anniversary Award
Bob Cottingham (left) with Columbia Director of Athletics Dr. M. Dianne Murphy.

NCAA Silver Anniversary Award Release

Photo and story courtesy of Columbia Sports Information/Media Relations

GRAPEVINE, Texas -- Former Columbia fencing standout Bob Cottingham ('88 CC) will be one of six recipients of the NCAA Silver Anniversary Award on Friday, Jan. 18.

The Silver Anniversary Awards are given out annually and recognizes up to six student-athletes on the 25th anniversary following the conclusion of their collegiate careers.

Cottingham, one of the most decorated fencers in program history, was a four-time Ivy League and All-American in men's sabre. He compiled an impressive record of 108-11 for an astounding .907 winning percentage. He is the 23rd former Ivy Leaguer to be bestowed with this honor.

While serving as a team captain during his junior and senior seasons, Cottingham led the Lions to back-to-back NCAA Championships. He was named NCAA Fencer of the Year in 1988 after earning an individual title in addition to the team's championship.

Following graduation, Cottingham went on to compete for the US National team at the 1988 and 1992 Olympic Games. He later was a member of the executive committee of the United States Fencing Association.

He now serves as chairman and chief executive officer of Sabre88, a global consulting firm applying capabilities in technology, public policy, international affairs, health care and education to government and commercial clients. Cottingham also is a key supporter of the Peter Westbrook Foundation, a nonprofit organization that uses fencing to enrich the lives of New York City youth.

Fellow 2013 NCAA Silver Anniversary recipients include Dylann Duncan Ceriani (BYU - Volleyball), Gail Devers (UCLA - Track & Field), Chad Hennings (Air Force - Football), Keith Jackson (Oklahoma - Football) and Patrick McEnroe (Stanford - Tennis).