Site Navigation

Men's Ice Hockey All-Ivy -- 2013-14

Men's Ice Hockey All-Ivy -- 2013-14

PRINCETON, N.J. -- Cornell senior goaltender Andy Iles (Ithaca, N.Y.) was named the 2013-14 Men's Ice Hockey Player of the Year on Friday when the Ivy League's annual postseason honors were announced.

Iles led the Big Red to its second outright Ivy League title in the last three years. He compiled a 1.37 goals against average, only allowing 14 goals, in over 612 minutes between the pipes during League play. The senior accumulated 688 saves throughout the entire 2013-14 campaign along with a .920 save percentage. He has compiled a 14-8-5 record for the 13th-ranked Big Red.

The League also handed out Co-Rookies of the Year honors to Harvard's Sean Malone and Yale's Alex Lyon.

Malone was sensational for the Crimson, leading all freshmen in scoring with nine points in League play. In his 29 games play throughout the season, he has racked up 19 points, third on the team, with six goals and 13 assists.

Lyon has found himself between the pipes 26 times in his rookie campaign in New Haven. He has totaled a 2.37 goals against average and a 12-9-5 overall record. He has a .919 save percentage and has managed 696 stops throughout the year.

Iles was joined by his Cornell teammate Brian Ferlin (Jacksonville, Fla.) and Joakim Ryan(Rumson, N.J.) on the All-Ivy first team. Ryan and Yale's senior forward Jesse Root (Pittsburgh, Pa.) were both unanimous selections in the voting.

Brown's Dennis Robertson (Fort St. John, BC) and Princeton's Andrew Ammon (Aldie, Va.) rounded out the All-Ivy First Team selections.

Earning second-team All-Ivy recognition were Brown's Matt Lorito, Dartmouth's Eric Neiley(Warminster, Pa.) and Charles Grant (Berwick, Nova Scotia), Harvard sophomore and last year's Ivy League Rookie of the Year Jim Vesey (North Reading, Mass.) and a trio from Yale in Ken Agostino(Flanders, N.J.), Rob O'Gara (Nesconset, N.Y.) and Gus Young (Dedham, Mass.). 

Harvard and Brown both placed two on the honorable mention list while Yale and Cornell each had one. 

Andy Iles, Cornell (Sr., G – Ithaca, N.Y.)

Sean Malone, Harvard (Fr., F – West Seneca, N.Y.)
Alex Lyon, Yale (Fr., G – Baudette, Minn.)

Brian Ferlin, Cornell (Jr., F – Jacksonville, Fla.)
Andrew Ammon, Princeton (Sr., F – Aldie, Va.)
*Jesse Root, Yale (Sr., F – Pittsburgh, Pa.)
Dennis Robertson, Brown (Sr., D, Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada)
*Joakim Ryan, Cornell (Jr., D – Rumson, N.J.)
Andy Iles, Cornell (Sr., G – Ithaca, N.Y.)

Matt Lorito, Brown (Jr., F – Oakville, Ontario, Canada)
Eric Neiley, Dartmouth (Jr., F – Warminster, Pa.)
Jim Vesey, Harvard (So., F – North Reading, Mass.)
Ken Agostino, Yale (Sr. F – Flanders, N.J.)
Rob O'Gara, Yale (So., D – Nesconset, N.Y.)
Gus Young, Yale (Sr., D – Dedham, Mass.)
Charles Grant, Dartmouth (So., G – Berwick, Nova Scotia, Canada)

Nick Lappin, Brown (So., F – Geneva, Ill.)
John McCarron, Cornell (Jr., F – Macomb, Mich.)
Sean Malone, Harvard (Fr. F – West Seneca, N.Y.)
Tyler Steel, Brown (Fr., G – Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada)
Raphael Girard, Harvard (Sr., G - Saint–Hyacinthe, Quebec, Canada)
Alex Lyon, Yale (Fr., G – Baudette, Minn.)

* Unanimous Selection
^ Due to ties in the voting, second team was expanded to seven