Site Navigation

Seibald Named Jewish Scholar Athlete of the Year

Wednesday, May 28, 2008

Courtesy: Cornell Athletic Communications

COMMACK, N.Y. - The National Jewish Sports Hall of Fame & Museum has announced that Cornell University men's lacrosse player Max Seibald has been named the Marty Glickman Outstanding Jewish Scholastic Athlete of the Year for 2008.

Seibald, a junior All-American midfielder from Hewlett, N.Y., is a three-time first-team All-Ivy selection, becoming only the eighth player in Cornell history to earn that distinction. He finished the year ranked second on the team with 27 goals and third overall with 33 points. A two-way player with tremendous speed and strength, he registered his 100th career point this season. He holds the longest point scoring streak on the team, and the fifth-longest in the country, having registered at least one point in the past 34 games. Seibald became the first Big Red men's lacrosse player to be named a finalist for the Tewaaraton Trophy, doing so as a sophomore in 2007, making him one of only five sophomores in the history of the award to be named a finalist.

Seibald is the second Cornell student-athlete to receive this award, joining football great Chad Levitt (1993-96), who earned the honor in 1997. He is the sixth Ivy League student-athlete overall, joining former Dartmouth quarterback Jay Fiedler (the awards first recipient in 1994), Penn fencer Cliff Bayer (2000), Yale fencer Sada Jacobson (2002, 2005) and Brown lacrosse player Rebekkah Rottenberg (2004).

The award will be presented at the 16th Annual National Jewish Sports Hall of Fame Inductions on Sunday, June 8, beginning at 10:30 a.m., at the Suffolk Y Jewish Community Center in Commack, N.Y.

For more information on the award or the induction ceremony, please click here.