Site Navigation

Cornell and Virginia Vie for Place in NCAA Men's Lacrosse Semifinals

Cornell and Virginia Vie for Place in NCAA Men's Lacrosse Semifinals

Complete Ivy League NCAA Men's Lacrosse Notes  l 2011 NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship Bracket

PRINCETON, N.J. -- Second-seeded Cornell carries an 11-game winning streak into its quarterfinal game versus seventh-seeded Virginia, which was the last team to beat the Big Red when it came away with an 11-9 win on March 12 as part of the 2011 Konica Minolta Face-Off Classic at M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore.

With a win, Cornell would advance to the NCAA Championship semifinals for the third consecutive season.

2011 marks the third consecutive season in which at least two Ivy teams made the NCAA Championship field and the eighth time in the last nine seasons that at least one Ivy team has made quarterfinals.

All told, the Ivy League men's lacrosse teams have combined for nine Div. I Men's Lacrosse titles since 1971 including three by Cornell and six by Princeton. They have also combined for 75 total appearances in NCAA Championship play.

Friday, May 6^
(3) Harvard def. (2) Penn, 12-8!
(1) Cornell def. (4) Yale, 11-7!

Sunday, May 8^
(1) Cornell def. (3) Harvard, 15-6$

Saturday, May 14
(4) Notre Dame def. Penn, 13-6*
(2) Cornell def. Hartford, 12-5*

! - 2011 Ivy League Men's Lacrosse Tournament Semifinals
$ - 2011 Ivy League Men's Lacrosse Tournament Championship
^ - at Schoellkopf Field (Ithaca, N.Y.)
(#) - refers to seed in the Ivy Tournament or NCAA Championship field
* - NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship First Round at campus sites

Saturday, May 21*
(2) Cornell vs. (7) Virginia, Noon [ESPN2 HD/]

* - NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship Quarterfinals at James Shuart Stadium (Hempstead, N.Y.)

(#) - refers to seed in the NCAA Championship field


Ivy League NCAA Notes                                   

NCAA Champions
Since 1971 there has been a NCAA Div. I Men's Lacrosse Championship. An Ivy League team has won the title on nine occasions, including Cornell winning the inaugural championship in 1971.

All-time, only Syracuse (10), Johns Hopkins (9), Princeton (6), North Carolina (4), Virginia (4), Cornell (3), Maryland (2) and Duke (1) have won a NCAA Men's Lacrosse Championship.

Year, School, Head Coach
1971, Cornell, Richie Moran
1976, Cornell, Richie Moran
1977, Cornell, Richie Moran
1992, Princeton, Bill Tierney
1994, Princeton, Bill Tierney
1996, Princeton, Bill Tierney
1997, Princeton, Bill Tierney
1998, Princeton, Bill Tierney
2001, Princeton, Bill Tierney                           

Ivies in the NCAA Quarterfinals   

With Cornell reaching the 2011 quarterfinals, an Ivy League team has reached the quarterfinals in eight of the last nine seasons, dating back to 2003 -- when the NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship undertook its current format of a 16-team field with no byes.                             

During the stretch since 2003, Cornell reached the quarterfinals in 2004, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2010 and 2011. The other Ivy squad to reach the quarterfinals since 2003 was Princeton, which made it in 2003, 2004, 2006 and 2009. Combined, Cornell and Princeton have posted a 4-5 record in quarterfinal games since 2003, including Cornell's 6-4 win over Princeton in 2009.                                                     

Ivies in the NCAAs    
The Ivies have combined to make 75 appearances in the NCAA Championship field, led by Cornell, which is making its 24th appearance this season.

Brown (12) -- 1971, 1973, 1976, 1985-87, 1990-92, 1994-95, 1997, 2009
Cornell (24) -- 1971, 1974-75, 1980, 1982-83, 1987, 1989, 1995, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2011
Dartmouth (1) -- 2003
Harvard (5) -- 1980, 1988, 1990, 1996, 2006
Penn (11) -- 1975, 1977, 1983, 1985, 1987, 1989, 2004, 2006, 2011
Princeton (19) -- 1990-2010
Yale (3) -- 1988, 1990, 1992

Multiple Ivies in the NCAAs    
Since 1971, the Ivy League has sent at least one team to the NCAA Championship field each year with the exceptions of 1972, 1981 and 1986. Additionally, the Ivies have earned multiple bids to the NCAA Championship field for the 26th time in 2011. It also marks the third season in a row at least two teams have made the field and the fifth time in the past six years.

The highest number of Ivy League teams to appear in the NCAA Championship is four, which was done in 2006 (Cornell, Harvard, Penn and Princeton) and 1990 (Brown, Harvard, Princeton and Yale).