Site Navigation

Cornell and Penn Set for NCAA Men's Lacrosse First Round Games

Cornell and Penn Set for NCAA Men's Lacrosse First Round Games

Complete Ivy League Men's Lacrosse First Round NCAA Notes

PRINCETON, N.J. --Cornell and Penn were named to the 16-team NCAA Men's Lacrosse Div. I Championship field on Sunday, May 8.

Cornell, fresh off an undefeated Ivy League regular-season and an Ivy tournament championship win, which clinched an automatic invite, earned the No. 2 overall seed and will play host to Hartford. The Big Red are set to play in the NCAA tournament for the eighth consecutive year and for the 24th time overall. Should the Big Red win, it would advance to the Hempstead, N.Y., Regional.

The Quakers earned an at-large berth and will travel to No. 4 seed Notre Dame. Penn is making its first appearance in the NCAAs since 2006 and its 12th overall. Were the Quakers to prove victorious, they would advance to the Foxboro, Mass., Regional.

2011 marks the third Consecutive season in which at least two Ivy teams have appeared in the NCAA Championship field and the fifth time in the past six seasons.

All told, the Ivy League men's lacrosse teams have combined for nine Div. I Men's lacrosse titles since 1971 including three by Cornell and six by Princeton. The Ivies have also made 75 total appearances in NCAA Championship play.

Saturday, May 14*
Penn at (4) Notre Dame; 2:30 pm [ESPNU]
Hartford at (2) Cornell; 7:30 pm [ESPNU]

* - NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship First Round

(#) - refers to seed in the NCAA Championship field.

[Indicates televison coverage] - ESPNU is available on DirecTV (Channel 208 for SD/HD), Dish Network (Channel 141 for SD/HD), Verizon FiOS (Channel 73 for SD, Channel 573 for HD) and AT&T U-Verse (Channel 605 for SD, Channel 1605 for HD).

Ivy League NCAA Notes                                   

NCAA Champions
Since 1971 there has been a NCAA Div. I Men's Lacrosse Championship. An Ivy League team has won the title on nine occasions, including Cornell winning the inaugural championship  in 1971. All-time, only Syracuse (10), Johns Hopkins (9), Princeton (6), North Carolina (4), Virginia (4), Cornell (3), Maryland (2) and Duke (1) have won an NCAA Men's Lacrosse Championship.

Year, School, Head Coach
1971, Cornell, Richie Moran
1976, Cornell, Richie Moran
1977, Cornell, Richie Moran
1992, Princeton, Bill Tierney
1994, Princeton, Bill Tierney
1996, Princeton, Bill Tierney
1997, Princeton, Bill Tierney
1998, Princeton, Bill Tierney
2001, Princeton, Bill Tierney

Ivies in the NCAAs    
The Ivies have combined to make 75 appearances in the NCAA Championship field, led by Cornell, which is making its 24th appearance this season.

Brown (12) -- 1971, 1973, 1976, 1985-87, 1990-92, 1994-95, 1997, 2009
Cornell (24) -- 1971, 1974-75, 1980, 1982-83, 1987, 1989, 1995, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2011
Dartmouth (1) -- 2003
Harvard (5) -- 1980, 1988, 1990, 1996, 2006
Penn (11) -- 1975, 1977, 1983, 1985, 1987, 1989, 2004, 2006, 2011
Princeton (19) -- 1990-2010
Yale (3) -- 1988, 1990, 1992

Multiple Ivies in the NCAA Championship   
Since 1971, the Ivy League has sent at least one team to the NCAA Championship field each year with the exceptions of 1972, 1981 and 1986. Additionally, the Ivies have earned multiple bids to the NCAA Championship field for the 26th time in 2011. It also marks the third season in a row at least two teams have made the field and the fifth time in the past six years.

The highest number of Ivy League teams to appear in the NCAA Championship is four, which was done in 2006 (Cornell, Harvard, Penn and Princeton) and 1990 (Brown, Harvard, Princeton and Yale).