Site Navigation

Cornell's Pannell Named a Tewaaraton Trophy Nominee

Cornell's Pannell Named a Tewaaraton Trophy Nominee

Courtesy of Cornell Athletic Communications

WASHINGTON – For the second straight season, Rob Pannell has been named one of 25 Tewaaraton Trophy nominees, as was announced this afternoon by the Greater Washington Sports Alliance With. Awarded to the top male and female collegiate lacrosse player, the Tewaaraton award is the nation's pre-eminent collegiate lacrosse accolade.

Pannell is one of the top attakman in the country, leading the nation in points per game (5.5), while ranking second in assists per game (2.82) and third overall in goals per game (2.73). He has registered at least one point in each of the 46 games he has played during his career and he currently ranks second in Cornell history for career assists (124) and third overall in career points (208).

Five male and five female finalists will be selected from the nominees. Finalists will be invited to the 11th annual Tewaaraton Award ceremony and the trophy will be presented on June 2 at the historic Warner Theatre in Washington, D.C.

Event details and ticket information can be found at

Official Men's 2011 Tewaaraton Nominees
Peter Baum, Colgate – So. (M), Portland, Ore.
Billy Bitter, North Carolina – Sr. (A), Manhasset, N.Y.
Jeremy Boltus, Army – Sr. (A), Baldwinsville, N.Y.
Zach Brenneman, Notre Dame – Sr. (M), East Hampton, N.Y.
Jay Card, Hofstra – Sr. (A), Caledon, Ont.,
Grant Catalino, Maryland – Sr. (A), Webster, N.Y.
C.J. Costabile, Duke – Jr. (M), New Fairfield, Conn.
Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook – Sr. (M), New Westminster, B.C.
David Earl, Notre Dame – Sr. (M), Simsbury, Conn.
Brian Farrell, Maryland – Sr. (M), Baltimore, Md.
John Galloway, Syracuse – Sr. (G), Syracuse, N.Y.
D.J. Hessler, Tufts – Sr. (A), Monkton, Md.
Zach Howell, Duke – Sr. (A), Huntington, N.Y.
Shayne Jackson, Limestone– Jr. (A), Bowmanville, Ont.,
Brian Karalunas, Villanova – Sr. (D), Dewitt, N.Y.
Stephen Keogh, Syracuse – Sr. (A), Toronto, Ont.,
John Lade, Syracuse – Sr. (D), Randolph, N.J.
Rob Pannell, Cornell – Jr. (A), Smithtown, N.Y.
John Ranagan, Johns Hopkins – So. (M), Yorktown, N.Y.
Adam Rand, Stony Brook – Sr. (M), Niantic, Conn.
Kevin Ridgway, Notre Dame – Sr. (D), Kensington, Md.
Steele Stanwick, Virginia – Jr. (A), Baltimore, Md.
Garret Thul, Army – So. (A), Flemington, N.J.
Joel White, Syracuse – Sr. (M), Cortland, N.Y.
Ryan Young, Maryland – Sr. (A), Manhasset, N.Y.

About The Tewaaraton Award:
The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 with the inaugural presentation talking place at The University Club of Washington DC in June of 2001. Honoring the Native American heritage, the Tewaaraton Trophy symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American history. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. Today, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award honoring the nation's top male and female collegiate lacrosse player for their extraordinary achievements on the field.

About Greater Washington Sports Alliance:
Established in 2003, The Greater Washington Sports Alliance (GWSA) is a regional non-profit sports commission created to foster economic development and civic pride through the power of sports. The Sports Alliance's mission encompasses the attraction of sporting events to the region, the promotion of the regional professional, collegiate and amateur franchises, the support of youth investment organizations and the branding of Washington, D.C. as a world class sports destination. For more information please visit