Site Navigation

Yale's Reese Entering National Lacrosse Hall of Fame

Yale's Johnathan Reese
Yale's Johnathan Reese

Courtesy of Yale Sports Publicity

BALTIMORE, Md. -- The most prolific player in the history of the Yale men's lacrosse program has been rewarded with something most college players can only dream about. Jonathan Reese '90, Yale's all-time leading scorer and the star of the best Bulldog teams ever, will be inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame on Oct. 29 in Hunt Valley, Md.
Reese and six others comprise the class of 2011 approved by the U.S. Lacrosse Board of Directors. The new inductees will be announced at this weekend's national championships.  
The other members of the class are Bruce Allison, Traci Davis, David W. Huntley, John "Jake" Lawlor, Suzanne Honeysett McKinney and Sandra Lanahan Zvosec.
"It's a tremendous honor and I feel quite humbled. I am very proud to be recognized for my accomplishments. I am honored to represent Long Island lacrosse and Yale University for what they both stand for: high performance, integrity and leadership," said Reese, who played in a stadium at Yale now named after his family.
Reese, who followed his brother, Jason '87, to New Haven, was one of the greatest athletes in Yale sports. Between lacrosse and football, Yale's 1990 William Neely Mallory Award winner (top male athlete), earned four Ivy League championships.
In 1990 he was New England and Ivy League Player of the Year as well as first-team All-America and the Lt. Don C. McLaughlin Jr. Memorial Award winner for the outstanding Division I midfielder. That spring he scored an NCAA record 82 goals while leading the Bulldogs to the NCAA semifinals.
"Jon Reese is the best player in Yale Lacrosse history," said Eli head coach Andy Shay.  "This is a tremendous honor for him, for Yale, and for our lacrosse program."
Reese, a three-time first-team All-Ivy pick and the 1987 league Rookie of the Year, is the school's all-time leader in points (200) and goals (162). He was one of seven midfielders named to the NCAA's Silver Anniversary Team in 1995.
While earning four varsity lacrosse letters, the West Babylon, N.Y., native had three football letters and captained the gridiron Bulldogs to a 1989 Ivy title as a linebacker with 122 tackles.
"I share this honor with the greatest teammates I played with and coaches I played for. Lacrosse is an incredible sport and it is very exciting to be voted into the National Hall of Fame as the sport reaches its highest profile," said Reese, the Founder and President of Make It Count Foundation.
A program of US Lacrosse, the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame was established in 1957 to honor men and women, who by their deeds as players, coaches, officials and/or contributors, and by the example of their lives, personify the great contribution of lacrosse to our way of life. More than 350 lacrosse greats are honored in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, which is located with the Lacrosse Museum at US Lacrosse Headquarters in Baltimore.