Site Navigation

Three Former Ivy Stars Capture Major League Lacrosse Title With The Boston Cannons

Former Brown Bear Jordan Burke
Former Brown Bear Jordan Burke

Courtesy of Major League Lacrosse

Box Score

ANNAPOLIS, Md. -- The Boston Cannons downed the Hamilton Nationals 10-9 on Sunday afternoon in the 2011 Sports Authority MLL Championship Game at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium. Former Brown Bear Jordan Burke backboned the Boston defense as he made nine saves en route to being named the game's MVP. Former Princeton standout Ryan Boyle had a goal and three assists to help pace the Cannon offense, while Cornell's Mitch Belisle chipped in with a ground ball on the defensive end.

Attackman Matt Poskay scored all three of his goals in the first half as the Boston Cannons built a 6-3 lead in the first half en route to winning their first Major League Lacrosse championship with the victory. Playing in the MLL title game for the second time in their 11-year history, the Cannons held a second half surge by the Nationals to win the title.

After Boyle scored just 1:41 into the first quarter, the Nationals used back-to-back goals from midfielders Kevin Crowley and Cody Jamieson to take a 2-1 advantage with 7:12 left in the first quarter.

But, Poskay scored twice in a four-minute span to take a 3-2 lead with 1:44 remaining in the period.

Attackman Casey Powell tied the game at 3-3 just over three minutes into the second quarter before the Cannons answered with three consecutive goals for a 6-3 lead. After midfielder Mike Stone scored an unassisted goal, Poskay converted a Boyle feed to increase the lead to 5-3. Less than a minute later, midifelder Brad Ross took a pass from midfielder Paul Rabil and scored past goalkeeper Scott Rodgers, upping the Cannons' advantage.

Powell scored just over a minute into the third quarter to trim the deficit to 6-4 before midfielders Pat Heim and Matt Smalley tallied back-to-back goals to increase the Cannons' cushion to 8-4.

But, the Nationals scored three straight goals to narrow the margin to 8-7 with 13:56 left in the fourth quarter. Powell led the run by scoring two goals for Hamilton.

The teams traded goals before midfielder Kevin Buchanan gave Boston a 10-8 lead when he scored on a diving shot past goalkeeper Brett Queener with 3:03 remaining.

With 32 seconds left, Jamieson scored an unassisted goal to trim the margin to 10-9, but the Cannons won the ensuing face-off and ran out the clock to claim the championship.

While Poskay led the Cannons with three goals, Heim contributed a pair of goals for Boston, which outshot Hamilton by a 49-38 margin. Goalkeeper Burke was named as the Bud Light MLL Championships MVP after making nine saves in the championship game victory.

Powell scored a game-high four goals to lead the Nationals in a losing effort while Jamieson scored twice. Rodgers made 16 saves in the first half while Queener contributed four saves.

2011 Sports Authority MLL Championship Game: Boston Cannons 10, Hamilton Nationals 9
Hamilton  2-1-3-3 / 9
Boston  3-3-2-2 / 10

Goals: HAM - Casey Powell 4, Cody Jamieson 2, Jeremy Boltus 1, Brodie Merrill 1, Kevin Crowley 1; BOS - Matt Poskay 3, Pat Heim 2, Brad Ross 1, Matt Smalley 1, Ryan Boyle 1, Kevin Buchanan 1, Mike Stone 1. Assists: HAM - Brett Bucktooth 1, Jordan Hall 1; BOS - Ryan Boyle 3, Paul Rabil 2, Kyle Sweeney 1. Saves: HAM - Scott Rodgers 16 (30:00, 6 goals allowed), Brett Queener 4 (30:00, 4 goals allowed); BOS - Jordan Burke 9 (60:00, 9 goals allowed). Shots: HAM - 38; BOS - 49. Power-Play Opportunities: HAM - 1 for 3; BOS - 1 for 3. Attendance: 5,027.