Site Navigation

Yale, Princeton Are NCAA Men's Lacrosse Championship Bound

Princeton's John Cunningham
Princeton's John Cunningham

Bracket: HTML | PDF

INDIANAPOLIS -- The Division I Men's Lacrosse Committee announced the field for the 2012 NCAA Championship and both Ivy Tournament Champion Yale and Ivy League Champion Princeton made the 16-team field. Yale claimed the League's automatic bid with a 15-7 Tournament Championship win over Princeton on Sunday afternoon. Princeton returns to the NCAA Championship field as a one of nine at-large selections.

The Bulldogs will travel to Notre Dame, Ind. to face fourth-seeded Notre Dame, while the Tigers will head south to Charlottesville, Va., to take on fifth-seeded Virginia. Both games will take place on Sunday, May 13, with Princeton playing at 1:00 p.m. (ESPN/ESPN3) and Yale taking the field at 5:15 p.m. (ESPNU/ESPN3).

Yale is returning to the NCAA Championship field for the first time since 1992 and the fourth time overall (1988 & 1990). Princeton is also returning to the NCAA Championship field after a one year hiatus. Prior to that, the Tigers had played in each NCAA tournament from 1990-2010.

The Ivy League has now had at least two team in each of the last four NCAA Championships and in six of the past seven years. Should Yale and Princeton score upset wins over seeded opponents in the first round, they would then play each other at PPL park in Philadelphia on Sunday, may 20.