Site Navigation

Princeton Claims 2012 Men's Lacrosse Title, Tournament Field Set

Princeton's Mike Macdonald
Princeton's Mike Macdonald

PRINCETON, N.J. -- On the final day of the Ivy League men's lacrosse season, Princeton downed Cornell, 14-9, to win the outright Ivy League title and clinch the top seed in the 2012 Ivy League Men's Lacrosse Tournament field. As the No. 1 seed, the Tigers will play host to the third annual event. The winner of the tournament will recieve the League's automatic bid to the NCAA Chamionship.

With the win, Princeton snapped Cornell's run of winning at least a share of nine consecutive League titles. The Tigers also match the Big Red with 26 Ivy League titles dating back to 1956. Eighteen of Princeton's 26 titles have now been won in outright fashion.

Brown also punched its ticket to the tournament on the final day of play when it downed Dartmouth, 10-8, and Yale beat Harvard, also by the score of 10-8.

Cornell, Princeton and Yale had already clinched berths before the final day of play, but seeding and host site were not finalized until tonight's results.

The tournament's semifinal games will be played at 5:00 p.m. and 8:00 p.m. on Friday, May 4. The championship game will then be played at noon on Sunday May 6. The semifinal games will be aired on ESPN3, while the title game will air live on ESPNU.

Cornell and Yale will each be making third consecutive appearances in the tournament. The Big Red, who hosted the event in 2010 and 2011, captured the 2011 title. Princeton won the inaugural tournament in 2010, when Brown made its only other appearance in the event.

2012 Ivy League Tournament -- Princeton, N.J.
Semifinal One: #2 Cornell vs. #3 Yale at 5:00 p.m. [ESPN3]
Semifinal Two: #1 Princeton vs. #4 Brown at 8:00 p.m. [ESPN3]
Championship: Noon [ESPNU]