Site Navigation

Third Quarter Surge Lifts Yale over Princeton in Men's Lacrosse Tournament Title Game

Third Quarter Surge Lifts Yale over Princeton in Men's Lacrosse Tournament Title Game

Tournament Central | Box Score | Photo Gallery | Highlights
Postgame Press Conferences: Yale | Princeton

ITHACA, N.Y. -- Yale broke a 6-6 tie with five straight goals in the third quarter to defeat Princeton, 12-8, in the Ivy League Men's Lacrosse Tournament championship game Sunday afternoon at Schoellkopf Field. 

The Bulldogs (11-4) defeated the Tigers in the title game for the second straight year and earned the automatic bid into the NCAA Championship field of 16. Selections will be announced Sunday night at 9 pm on ESPNU. 

Nine different Bulldogs scored in the contest, including two goals each by Conrad Oberbeck, Brandon Mangan and Kirby Zdrill. Eric Natale recorded 10 saves on the afternoon, including eight in the second half.

Tom Schreiber had four points for the Tigers on two goals and two assists.

Yale's Dylan Levings was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player. He was dominant on faceoffs on Sunday, winning 19 or 23. 

Princeton (9-6) scored the first two goals of the contest before Yale regrouped and reeled off six straight. Kip Orban, Friday night's hero with the gamewinner in overtime, opened the scoring 2:30 into the contest, followed by a Schreiber tally a little over three minutes later. 

But Princeton wouldn't score again until the final minute of the opening half as the Bulldogs scored six straight. Six different players scored in the run that was started by Ryan McCarthy's goal with 8:02 left in the first. Princeton broke the run with 28 seconds left in the first half when Mike MacDonald scored unassisted to cut it to 6-3. 

But the Froccaro brothers scored three goals in a span of 71 seconds to tie the score early in the third. Jake Froccaro opened the second half scoring 3:06 into the third, cutting the deficit to two. His older brother Jeff rifled one home 46 seconds later and it was a one-goal game. 

Jeff then scored again 25 seconds later off a Schreiber feed and it was all tied up. 

Yale came back with five in row, however, with Oberbeck scoring twice. His first came with 8:08 left in the third, followed by a Zdrill tally 2-1/2 minutes later to give Yale an 8-6 lead. When Colin Flaherty scored with 1:17 left in the quarter, Yale had a five-goal lead. 

All-Tournament Team
Mike MacDonald, Princeton
Conrad Oberbeck, Yale
Peter Johnson, Yale
Dylan Levings, Yale
Eric Natale, Yale
Rob Pannell, Cornell
Tom Schreiber, Princeton
Max Van Bourgondien, Cornell
Kip Orban, Princeton
Michael McCormack, Yale

Most Outstanding Player
Dylan Levings, Yale