Site Navigation

Yale, Cornell in Field of 16 for NCAA Men's Lacrosse Championship


INDIANAPOLIS -- Yale and Cornell were each among the teams named to the 2013 NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship field of 16 when the selections were announced Sunday night on ESPNU. 

Yale (11-4, 4-2 Ivy League), the Ivy League Tournament champion, will visit eighth-seeded Penn State (12-4) on Saturday at 2:30 p.m. The game will be televised by ESPNU. The Bulldogs, the Ivy League runner-ups in the regular season, defeated Penn and Princeton to win the tournament title. Yale is making its second-straight NCAA Championship appearance. Penn State is in the tourney for the first time since 2005. 

Cornell (12-3, 6-0 Ivy), the Ivy League regular-season champs, will visit sixth-seeded Maryland (10-3) on Sunday at 1 p.m. The game will be televised by ESPN2. The Big Red lost in the Ivy League Tournament semifinals to Princeton in overtime, 14-13. 

The game against Maryland marks Cornell's ninth NCAA tournament appearance in the last 10 seasons. It will also be the 25th NCAA tournament appearance in school history, with the Big Red posting a 30-21 record with 12 Final Four appearances. Cornell last advanced to the national semifinal game in 2010.

Maryland leads the all-time series between the teams 13-2-1 dating back to 1922, but the squads haven't met since 2000, an 8-7 Terps victory.