Site Navigation

Princeton's Schreiber Wins MacLaughlin Award

Princeton's Schreiber Wins MacLaughlin Award

Courtesy of Princeton Athletic Communications

BALTIMORE -- The USILA first presented the Lt. j.g. Donald MacLaughlin Jr. Award for the nation's top midfielder back in 1973. The first winner was Doug Schreiber, who played at Maryland.

Fast forwarding 41 years, the most recent winner of the award is Tom Schreiber, Doug's son and a Princeton senior, who the USILA announced earned the MacLaughlin Award for 2014.

Tom Schreiber was the 2013 winner as well, making him just the sixth player - and second Princetonian after Josh Sims - to win it twice.

Schreiber had 30 goals and 21 assists this year while leading Princeton in scoring for the fourth straight season. Schreiber was named a USILA first-team All-America for the third straight year.

The other two-time winners of the MacLaughlin Award besides Schreiber and Sims are Frank Urso from Maryland (1974, 1976), Delverne Dressel of Johns Hopkins (1984, 1985), Gary Gait of Syracuse (1988, 1989) and Kyle Harrison of Johns Hopkins (2005, 2006).