Site Navigation

Brown's Jeff Larentowicz Called Into U.S. Men's National Team Camp

Brown's Jeff Larentowicz Called Into U.S. Men's National Team Camp

Portions courtesy of U.S. Soccer

CHICAGO -- Former Brown Bear Jeff Larentowicz was among the 24 players named by U.S. Men's National Team head coach Bob Bradley to the training camp roster that will begin gathering Jan. 4 at U.S. Soccer's National Training Center at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif., it was announced on Dec. 21.

The group will prepare for the USA's first match of 2011, a friendly against fellow FIFA World Cup finalists Chile on Jan. 22 at The HDC. Kickoff is set for 6 p.m. PT, with broadcast information to be announced at a later date.

Bradley, a 1980 graduate of Princeton University and head coach of the Tigers for 12 seasons (1984-95), selected a largely domestic-based group that includes 20 players who ply their trade in the United States, and the coaching staff is taking full advantage of the opportunity to assess new talent. With an average age of just above 23 years old, half of the players can earn their first cap for the full team.

Larentowicz recently became a 2010 MLS Champion with the Colorado, patrolling the midfield for the Rapids throughout the 2010 season. He is amongst the group of players looking to earn a first career USMNT cap.

While at Brown, Larentowicz helped guide the Bears to two Ivy League Championships and scored seven goals and added six assists. Larentowicz was a two-time second-team NSCAA All-America selection (2003 and 2004) and he was also a four-time All-Ivy performer.


GOALKEEPERS (4): Dominic Cervi (Celtic), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Matt Pickens (Colorado Rapids), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake).

DEFENDERS (9): A.J. DeLaGarza (Los Angeles Galaxy), Sean Franklin (Los Angeles Galaxy), Omar Gonzalez (Los Angeles Galaxy), Ugo Ihemelu (FC Dallas), Zach Loyd (FC Dallas), Ryan Miller (Halmstads BK), Tim Ream (New York Red Bulls), Anthony Wallace (Colorado Rapids), Marvell Wynne (Colorado Rapids).

MIDFIELDERS (7): Eric Alexander (FC Dallas), Alejandro Bedoya (Örebro), Sam Cronin (San Jose Earthquakes), Mikkel Diskerud (Stabaek), Jeff Larentowicz (Colorado Rapids), Dax McCarty (D.C. United), Brek Shea (FC Dallas).

FORWARDS (4): Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls), Justin Braun (Chivas USA), Teal Bunbury (Sporting Kansas City), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes).

Complete U.S. Soccer release here