Site Navigation

Brown's Okafor and Dartmouth's Keat Invited to Major League Soccer Combine

Brown's Okafor and Dartmouth's Keat Invited to Major League Soccer Combine

PRINCETON, N.J. -- Brown senior Jon Okafor (Verona, N.J.) and Dartmouth senior Daniel Keat (Wellington, New Zealand) have been invited to participate in the 2011 adidas Major League Soccer Player Combine on Jan. 7-11 in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. The Ivy duo are two of 54 college seniors from 36 Division I schools selected by a panel of Division I coaches in conjunction with MLS coaches to participate in the combine. The event precedes the 2011 MLS Superdraft, which will take place on Jan. 13 in Baltimore, Md. during the NSCAA Convention.

Okafor helped guide the Bears to three NCAA Tournament appearances in his four-year career and combined for 40 points on 14 goals and 12 assists. This season, he led Brown to the third round of the NCAA tournament, as he saw action in 15 games and ranked second on the team in scoring with five goals and three assists. Okafor tallied Brown’s first goal in its 2-1 first-round NCAA victory over Boston College as the squad finished 12-4-4 overall.

Keat had a stellar career at Dartmouth, coming to Hanover as a freshman in 2006 and finishing up his career this fall with his fourth All-Ivy honor and third selection to the first team. He was named to the first team All-Ivy and first team All-Northeast this fall after ranking second on the team in scoring with 13 points (four goals and five assists). Keat also earned NSCAA All-Northeast honors as a junior (first team) and freshman (third team). A two-time co-captain, Keat was named an NSCAA All-American in 2009.

2011 adidas MLS Player Combine list by position

GOALKEEPERS (5): Bryan Meredith (Monmouth); Jeff Attinella (University of South Florida); Jimmy Maurer (South Carolina); Joe Willis (University of Denver); Josh Ford (UConn).

DEFENDERS (17): A.J. Soares (California); Bilal Duckett (Notre Dame); Bobby Warshaw (Stanford); Christopher Korb (Akron); Colin Givens (Michigan State); Curtis Ushedo (UAB); Demitrius Omphroy (California); Eddie Ababio (UNC); Greg Klazura (Notre Dame); Greg King (UConn); Indy Smith (UNC Wilmington); Jalil Anibaba (UNC); J.T. Murray (Louisville); Juan Cruz (SMU); Michael Boxall (UCSB); Rich Balchan (Indiana); Tyler Lassiter (North Carolina State).

MIDFIELDERS (21): Anthony Ampaipitakwong (Akron); Blake Brettschneider (South Carolina); Cole Grossman (Duke); Daniel Keat (Dartmouth); Dustin McCarty (UNC); Ernesto Carranza (Sacramento State); Guillermo Cortes (Maryland); Hector Jimenez (California); Jimmy Banks (Green Bay); John “Jeb” Brovsky (Notre Dame); Jon Okafor (Brown); Josue Soto (SMU); Karl Reddick (Boston College); Konrad Warzycha (Ohio State); Lebogang Pila (St. Peter’s College); Matheus Braga (Penn State); Matt Gold (Ohio State); Michael Farfan (UNC); Servando Carrasco (California); Stephen McCarthy (UNC); Tommy Drake (Clemson).

FORWARDS (11): Amani Walker (UCI); Ashley McInnes (Tulsa); Brayan Martinez (Seton Hall University); CJ Sapong (James madison); Davis Paul (California); Efrain Burgos (Cal Poly San Luis Obispo), Jason Herrick (Maryland); Justin Meram (Michigan); Levi Houapeu (UMBC); Philip Bannister (Loyola University Maryland); Steven Perry (Notre Dame).