Site Navigation

Four Soccer Ivies Earn 2010 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Nominations

Four Soccer Ivies Earn 2010 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Nominations

Courtesy Lowe's Public Relations

OVERLAND PARK, KS -- Four Ivy men's and women's soccer players were selected as candidates for the 2010 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award, announced Wednesday. Yale forward Becky Brown, Harvard forward Katherine Sheeleigh, Dartmouth forward Daniel Keat and Princeton defender/midfielder Josh Walburn were among 60 total NCAA Division I men's and women's soccer student-athletes.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.
The 2010 candidate class includes seven National Soccer Coaches Association of America All-Americans from last season. Half of the 60 have maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.50 or better, while two have recorded perfect 4.00 GPAs. Seven of the candidates were recognized by the College Sports Information Directors of America as 2009 academic All-Americans. Five student-athletes participated in the NCAA Men's or Women's College Cups® in 2009. And 20 of the 60 candidates are on the 2010 preseason watch list for the Hermann Trophy, awarded annually by the Missouri Athletic Club to the top male and female Division I soccer players in the country at the end of the season. Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award® winners during the 2010 NCAA Men’s and Women’s College Cup championships in early December.
Each of the 30 candidate classes will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplify excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.
“The nominations for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award for soccer are traditionally strong in community service and academic excellence,” said Tom Lamb, Lowe’s senior vice president of marketing. “This year's candidate class reflects the strong sense of obligation these student-athletes have to their communities,  their universities and their teammates and we are proud to recognize them for their excellence.”

For more information on all the candidates, visit

# # # #

2010 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Men's Soccer Candidates

Name, Position, School
Anthony Ampaipitakwong, Midfielder, Akron
Jeff Attinella, Goalkeeper, South Florida
Phil Bannister, Forward, Loyola (Maryland)
Michael Boxall, Defender, UC Santa Barbara
Jeb Brovsky, Forward, Notre Dame
Andres Casais, Defender, Penn State
Matt Eliason, Forward, Northwestern
Akira Fitzgerald, Goalkeeper, Wake Forest
Matt Gold, Defender, Ohio State
Sam Hayden, Goalkeeper, UC Santa Barbara
Jason Herrick, Forward, Maryland
Ciint Irwin, Goalkeeper, Elon
Zach Johnson, Goalkeeper, West Virginia
Daniel Keat, Midfielder, Dartmouth
Ryan Kinne, Midfielder/Forward, Monmouth
Kyle Knotek, Defender, Northern Illinois
Dylan Leslie, Midfielder, Saint Mary's (Calif.)
Robby Lynch, Midfielder/Defender, Evansville
Samson Malijani, Forward, Fairleigh Dickinson
Alex Mangan, Forward, DePaul
Jimmy Maurer, Goalkeeper, South Carolina
Ashley McInnes, Forward, Tulsa
Michael Perry, Defender, Denver
Indy Smith, Defender, UNC Wilmington
John Bayron Sosa, Midfielder, UMKC
Jeremy Vuolo, Goalkeeper, Syracuse
Josh Walburn, Defender/Midfielder, Princeton
Bobby Warshaw, Defender, Stanford
Tommy Watkins, Defender, Dayton
Alex Wood, Midfielder, Michigan

2010 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Women's Soccer Candidates

Name, Position, School
Kristi Andreassen, Defender, Northern Arizona
Kelly Blumenschein, Forward, Dayton
Becky Brown, Forward, Yale
Erica Campanelli, Defender, Texas
Amanda DaCosta, Midfielder, Florida State
Alyssa Davila, Midfielder, Southern California
Alexandra Elston, Midfielder, Arizona State
Callan Elswick, Forward, Davidson
Friederike Engel, Defender, American
Lauren Fowlkes, Defender, Notre Dame
Katie Fraine, Goalkeeper, Florida
Jenny Green, Defender, Western Illinois
Ali Hawkins, Midfielder, North Carolina
Molly Kinsella, Forward, Vanderbilt
Ali Kliment, Defender, Monmouth
Shay Mannino, Goalkeeper, Central Michigan
Katie McDermott, Midfielder, Fordham
Megan Minnix, Midfielder, Charlotte
Alex Morgan, Forward, California
Annika Niemeier, Midfielder, Oklahoma State
Whitney Palmer, Forward, Oklahoma
Nicole Pasciolla, Midfielder, St. John's (N.Y.)
Mollie Patton, Goalkeeper, South Carolina
Christen Press, Forward, Stanford
Katherine Sheeleigh, Forward, Harvard
Rachel Shipley, Midfielder, Texas A&M
Lina Staropoli, Midfielder, Loyola (Maryland)
Vendula Strnadova, Midfielder, Memphis
Danielle Toney, Forward, Penn State
Jessica Tsao, Defender, Portland