Site Navigation

Men's Squash All-Ivy -- 2011-12

Men's Squash All-Ivy -- 2011-12

Photos courtesy of Columbia Sports Information/Media Relations and Harvard Athletic Communications

PRINCETON, N.J. -- A mixture of newcomers and veterans littered the 2011-12 Ivy League men's squash postseason awards as first-year players swept Player and Rookie of the Year and eight returners captured All-Ivy honors for a second or third time.

In his first year at Harvard, sophomore Ali Farag (Cairo, Egypt) was named Ivy League Player of the Year and co-Rookie of the Year with Columbia freshman Ramit Tandon (Kolkata, India). Both were also unanimous first-team All-Ivy selections by the League's eight head coaches.

Farag is the 15th person in Ivy League history to win Player and Rookie of the Year in the same season and the third in men's squash following Penn's Rudy Rodriguez in 1988-89 and Princeton's Yasser El-Halaby 2002-03.

Sharing Rookie of the Year honors was a fitting end for Farag and Tandon as the two battled in the College Squash Association (CSA) Pool Trophy final. Farag won the individual national title in a 12-10, 11-8, 11-4 victory over Tandon to finish his rookie season with a perfect 16-0 record (5-0 in League matches). Tandon posted a 14-1 record this season with his only loss coming to Farag. In Ivy play, he was 5-0 playing at the top spot for the Lions.

Among the League's veteran players, four garnered selection to the All-Ivy first team for a third-consecutive season -- Cornell junior Nick Sachvie (St. Catherines, Ontario, Canada), Dartmouth  junior Christopher Hanson (Greenwich, Conn.), Princeton junior Todd Harrity (Philadelphia) and Yale junior Kenneth Chan (Singapore). Harrity and Chan were chosen unanimously for the second time in as many seasons.

The 2010-11 Player of the Year, Harrity helped Princeton stop Trinity's 13-year run at the top of men's collegiate squash with a 5-4 win to capture the Potter Cup and claim the title the 2012 CSA team champion. In the individual national championship, Harrity lost to Tandon in the semifinals.

Chan posted an 8-6 record during the regular season, including a win at the No. 1 spot in Yale's historic win on Jan. 19 that ended Trinity's 252-match winning streak.

Hanson continued to be a constant for Dartmouth at No. 1 with a 5-2 record in Ivy matches. Sachvie, also playing at No. 1, helped guide Cornell to a program-best fourth-place finish at the CSA team championships.

A quartet of seniors received first-team accolades for the second time in their careers. Cornell's Alex Domenick (Philadelphia) and Thomas Spettigue (Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada) were recognized for a second-straight year. Dartmouth's Nick Sisodia (Chicago) was tabbed to the first team for second time in three seasons and Princeton's Chris Callis (Wyndmoor, Pa.) was named a first-teamer for the first time since the 2008-09 season.

Player of the Year
Ali Farag, Harvard (So., Cairo, Egypt)

Co-Rookies of the Year
Ramit Tandon, Columbia (Fr., Kolkata, India)
Ali Farag, Harvard (So., Cairo, Egypt)

First Team All-Ivy^
*Ramit Tandon, Columbia (Fr., Kolkata, India)
Alex Domenick, Cornell (Sr., Philadelphia)
*Nick Sachvie, Cornell (Jr., St. Catherines, Ontario, Canada)
Thomas Spettigue, Cornell (Sr., Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada)
Nick Sisodia, Dartmouth (Sr., Chicago)
*Christopher Hanson, Dartmouth (Jr., Greenwich, Conn.)
*Ali Farag, Harvard (So., Cairo, Egypt)
Thomas Mattsson, Penn (Sr., Philadelphia)
*Todd Harrity, Princeton (Jr., Philadelphia)
*Chris Callis, Princeton (Sr., Wyndmoor, Pa.)
Tyler Osborne, Princeton (Fr., Kingston, Ontario, Canada)
Kenneth Chan, Yale (Jr., Singapore)

* Unanimous Selection
^ Expanded to 12 players due to ties in voting