Site Navigation

Princeton Wins Fourth-Consecutive Ivy League Men's Swimming & Diving Title

Princeton Wins Fourth-Consecutive Ivy League Men's Swimming & Diving Title

Championship Central | Results (HTML) | Results (PDF) | Photo Gallery

Watch (Races): 200-back | 100-free | 200-breast | 200-fly | 400-relay
Watch (Interviews): Chris Satterthwaite | Jeff Cragg | Stephen Vines | Jonathan Christensen/Paul Nolle | Rob Orr

PRINCETON, N.J. -- The 2012 Men's Ivy League Swimming and Diving Championship came to a close on Saturday night the DeNunzio Pool with Princeton holding off Harvard to win its fourth straight Ivy League title.

Princeton claimed the 2012 title with 1,523.5 points. Harvard placed second for the fourth straight season (1,446), followed by Columbia (1,107.5), Yale (966.5), Dartmouth (764.5), Penn (756), Brown (596.5) and Cornell (575.5). It was the third year in a row that the Lions finished third and marked their highest point total ever at the meet. The Big Green's fifth-place showing was its best since finishing third in 1981.

The 2012 Championships will also be remembered for a trio of swimmers who each won three Ivy League titles including Princeton sophomore Paul Noelle, Harvard sophomore Chris Satterthwaite (Harvard) and Princeton senior Jonathan Christensen (Princeton). For their efforts, they each earned Swimmer of the Meet honors.

The night kicked off with the fastest heat of the 1,650 free, which Noelle won in 15:00.16 for his third title in three nights, while his time set a DeNunzio Pool record. Yale freshman Rob Harder placed second (15:17.50), followed by Harvard freshman Mike Gaudiani in third (15:17.73). Noelle became Princeton's first winner of the event since David Ashley won the Ivy title in 2004. With three of the top-eight finishers, Harvard cut Princeton's lead to 35.5 points following the 1,650-free, but that proved to be as close as the Crimson would come to catching the Tigers.

In the 200-back, Princeton senior Colin Cordes entered the finals with the top qualifying time of 1:44.98 from morning prelims and he was looking for a third consecutive title in the event, but Columbia freshman Jeremie DeZwirek had other ideas as he won in 1:44.66. Cordes placed second (1:45.01), followed by Princeton junior Kaspar Raigla in third (1:46.74). DeZwirek became Columbia's first ever Ivy champion in the 200-back. 

In the 100-free finals, Satterthwaite won his third title in as many nights when he became the Crimson's first winner of the event since 1999 (Alex Kurmakov). Satterthwaite won in 43.18, followed by Columbia freshman Omar Arafa (43.81). Harvard sophomore Oliver Lee placed third (43.91).

In an exciting 200-breast final, Christensen won the third of his titles in 1:55.96. Harvard freshman Chuck Katis placed second (1:56.49), followed by Dartmouth's Nejc Zupan in third (1:57.15). Christensen finished his career with three 200-breast titles (2009 & 2011).

In the 200-fly, Brown Tommy Glenn won his second title of the 2012 Championships when he posted a time of 1:43.68 - a NCAA 'B' cut time that could see the sophomore invited to the 2012 NCAA Championships. Princeton freshman Oliver Bennett placed second (1:46.09) and Yale freshman Alwin Firmansyah took third (1:46.21).

Princeton junior Stephen Vines took the title on the three-meter boards with a score of 400.60 in the finals. Vines, who also placed second in one-meter, went on to be named the Karl B. Michael Award High Point Diver of the Meet. Harvard freshman Michael Mosca followed up his one-meter title with a second-place showing on the three-meter boards. Harvard junior Michael Stanton placed third with 356.45 points.

The Crimson then closed the 2012 championships by breaking Princeton's hold on the relay events by capturing the 400-free relay in 2:53.22. The Tigers, who had won the first for relays of the 2012 championships, finished tied second with Columbia as both teams touched in at 2:55.75. Yale finished fourth in 2:57.68. 

Karl B. Michael Award (High Point Diver of the Meet)
Stephen Vines (Princeton) 

Phil Moriarty Award (High Point Swimmer)
Paul Noelle (Princeton), Chris Satterthwaite (Harvard) and Jonathan Christensen (Princeton)

Ron Keenhold Award (Career High Point Diver)
Jeff Cragg (Penn)

Harold Ulen Award (Career High Point Swimmer)
Jonathan Christensen (Princeton)

Final Standings
1. Princeton -- 1,523.5
2. Harvard -- 1,446
3. Columbia -- 1,107.5
4. Yale -- 966.5
5. Dartmouth -- 764.5
6. Penn -- 756
7. Brown -- 596.5
8. Cornell -- 575.5