Site Navigation

Harvard Claims Men's Swimming & Diving Championship

Harvard Claims Men's Swimming & Diving Championship

Championship Central | Results | Highlights | Photo Gallery

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. -- Harvard led nearly wire-to-wire in ending Princeton's five-year reign and capturing the 2014 Ivy League Men's Swimming and Diving Championship, finishing with a total of 1,495 points. 

Princeton, which had won five in a row and nine of the last 12 titles, finished second with 1,413 points. Penn was third with 1,050 followed by Yale (987), Columbia (955), Dartmouth (718), Brown (679.5) and Cornell (561.5). 

It is Harvard's 23rd all-time championship and 16th outright crown, last winning in 2008 also at Blodgett Pool. 

The night began with Penn's Chris Swanson setting a new Ivy League Championship meet record and breaking a 33-year-old Blodgett Pool mark in the 1650. Swanson touched the wall in 14:53.75. 

Harvard's Jack Manchester won the 200 backstroke title in 1:42.64. Princeton was able to make a little ground by getting a second and fourth place finish in the race. That cut the Harvard lead to 61.5 points heading to the 100 freestyle. 

The lead quickly grew back to nearly triple-digits, though, in the 100 freestyle. Again, it was Chris Satterthwaite carrying the load, winning the race in 43.11. The Crimson grabbed first, third and fourth places, while Princeton settled for fifth, sixth and eighth, giving Harvard a 98.5-point lead. 

Dartmouth's Nejc Zupan won the 200 breaststroke in a time of 1:54.29, earning his second straight title and second Ivy title of the weekend. Again, though, Princeton couldn't make up any ground on Harvard in the event and with three events to go, the Harvard lead was 101.5 points. 

In the 200 butterfly, Brown's Tommy Glenn became a three-time champion in the event, touching in 1:42.35 to break the Ivy League Championship meet record that had been set earlier in the day during preliminaries by Columbia's Kevin Quinn. In addition, Glenn also beat the NCAA "A" cut to earn a national championship meet slot. 

Harvard's Mike Mosca won the three-meter diving, breaking his own Ivy League Championship meet record with a score of 413.80, making him the seventh diver in League history to record multiple sweeps on the one and three-meter diving events.

Mosca's win coupled with Joe Zarella's third-place finish in the event was enough to put the Crimson over the top for the title. 

The meet ended in fitting fashion as Harvard won the final event, the 400 yard freestyle relay, on the back of Satterthwaite. The senior had helped the Crimson build the lead on Friday night with a big individual win and a huge relay final-leg for a win to end the night. On Saturday night, after trailing for most of the relay, Satterthwaite recorded 50-yard splits of 20.42 and 21.84 to pull Harvard from the middle of the pack to win the race, making the final touch in 2:53.64.  

Penn's Swanson was the Phil Moriarity Swimmer of the Meet with 92 total points in the meet. Dartmouth's Zupan won the Harold Ulen Career High Point Swimmer Award, compiling 361 points in his four years with The Big Green. 

Mosca won the Karl B. Michael High Point Diver of the Meet Award with 64 points in the meet. Yale's Tyler Pramer earned the Ron Keenhold Career High Point Diver Award, amassing 183 points in his four-year career. 

1. Harvard
2. Princeton
3. Penn
4. Yale
5. Columbia
6. Dartmouth
7. Brown