Site Navigation

Columbia, Harvard Selected to NCAA Men's Tennis Championship Field

Columbia, Harvard Selected to NCAA Men's Tennis Championship Field


Portions courtesy of Columbia Media Relations/Sports Information and Harvard Athletic Communications

INDIANAPOLIS -- For second time in three seasons, Columbia and Havard will be representing the Ivy League in the NCAA Division I Men's Tennis Championship.

The League champion Lions (20-1, 7-0 Ivy League) earned the national No. 16 seed and will face East Tennessee State (14-8, 7-8 Atlantic Sun) on Saturday, May 10 in a first-round match to be played at Vanderbilt's Currey Tennnis Center in Nashville, Tenn. The host Commodores open with Virginia Tech in the first round and will host the second-round matchup on Sunday, May 11.

Earning a spot in the 64-team field as an at-large selection, Harvard (17-6, 6-1 Ivy) has Auburn (14-13, 4-8 SEC) in the first round to be held on Friday, May 9 at Oklahoma's Headington Tennis Center in Norman, Okla. The host Sooners have Montana a first-round clash and will host first-round winners on Saturday, May 10.

Columbia, ranked 18th in the latest Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Rankings, comes into the NCAA Tournament as one of the nation's hottest teams. The Lions hold an 18-match winning streak with its last loss to 10th-ranked Georgia on Jan. 25. Columbia is back in the NCAA Tournament for the ninth time and is seeking its first-ever postseason victory.

No. 33-ranked Harvard returns to the postseason for the third-straight year and is set to make its 21st NCAA Tournament appearance. The Crimson holds a 15-20 (.429) all-time NCAA Tournament record and has advanced as far as the quarterfinals (1997).

The Ivy League has compiled a 16-42 (.276) record in the championship since 1977.

First and second-round competition takes place on May 9-11 and features four teams playing in a single-elimination format. The winner of each site advances to Georgia's Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia, where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship on May 16-20.

Tournament matches will be regulation dual matches with three eight-game, pro-set doubles played for one team point, followed by six singles matches, each valued at one team point, played in best-of-three sets. Regular scoring will be used and a 12-point tiebreaker will be played at seven-games-all in doubles and at six-games-all in singles.