Site Navigation

Men's Tennis All-Ivy -- 2013-14

Men's Tennis All-Ivy -- 2013-14

Photos courtesy of Columbia Media Relations/Sports Information and Dartmouth Varsity Athletics Communications

PRINCETON, N.J. -- Familiar names filled this year's ledger of postseason award winners for Ivy League men's tennis, led by Columbia junior Winston Lin receiving a pair of a unanimous selections as Player of the Year and first-team All-Ivy in singles and Dartmouth sophomore Dovydas Sakinis capping his first season on the court being named Rookie of the Year and unanimous first-team All-Ivy in singles.

Lin (Williamsville, N.Y.) has been a stalwart in Columbia's milestone season, which includes a 11th League title and ninth appearance n the NCAA Division I Men's Tennis Championship. He becomes the fourth Lion to be named Player of the Year, following Phil Williamson (1986-87), Salil Seshadri (1997-98) and Oscar Chow (2002-03). Lin has earned unanimous first-team All-Ivy honors in singles in each of his three seasons in Morningside Heights and added a unanimous selection as Rookie of the Year in 2011-12.

Lin, ranked 18th by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA), has won 29 of 31 matches all season with 10 victories coming over ranked opponents. He won the USTA/ITA Northeast Regional and advanced to the quarterfinals of the USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships. He has been perfect this spring with wins in all 14 of his matches at No. 1 for Columbia.

Sakinis (Siauliai, Lithuania) burst on the League's tennis scene this season in an impressive fashion to become the first Dartmouth player to be chosen Rookie of the Year since the award began with the 1987-88 season. He won four of his last five completed singles matches to close with 19 overall victories with 12 of those coming in dual match play. Sakinis shined in League action with 3-1 mark playing at No. 1 for the Big Green.

In all, five of the seven singles players on this year's All-Ivy first team were unanimous choices by the League's eight head coaches with Columbia sophomore Dragos Ignat (Bacau, Romania), Harvard junior Denis Nguyen (Anaheim, Calif.) and Yale freshman Tyler Lu (Irvine, Calif.) joining Lin and Sakinis.

Ignat and Nguyen, along with Cornell junior Sam Fleck (Cambridge, United Kingdom), are back on the first team for the second-straight year while Princeton junior Zack McCourt (Sunrise, Fla.) collected his first nod on the first team. Fleck was also tabbed to the second team in doubles.

The All-Ivy first team in doubles also feature some familiar names as the Columbia tandem of juniors Ashok Narayana (Houston) and Max Schnur (Richmond, Va.) and the Harvard pair of Nguyen and senior Casey MacMaster (Fort Collins, Colo.) received unanimous recognition on the first team for the second time in as many seasons. Dartmouth's duo of senior Cameron Ghorbani (Lexington, Mass.) and sophomore Brendan Tannenbaum (Indianapolis) rounded out the first team.

Ranked nationally in singles and doubles, Nguyen was only player to be named to the first team in both. Currently 41st by the ITA as the Crimson's No. 1 in singles, he went 21-9 overall with eight victories over opponents currently ranked. In doubles, Nguyen and MacMaster have been a force all season, ranked 19th in the country with 10 wins coming this spring. It has been because of their play that Harvard's season is still going with a 21st appearance in the NCAA Tournament coming this week. 

Narayana and Schnur, ranked 11th by the ITA, are the League's top tandem for good reason as the two captured the doubles title at the USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships and advanced to the quarterfinals in the main draw of the ITA Men's All-American Championships in the fall. This spring, the twosome paired for 11 wins with a perfect 5-0 record at No. 1 in League action. Individually, Narayana and Schnur were also named second-team All-Ivy in singles with Narayana receiving the nod for a second-straight season.

The remaining second-team selections in singles and doubles earned All-Ivy status for the first time.

*Winston Lin, Columbia (Jr. - Williamsville, N.Y.)

Dovydas Sakinis, Dartmouth (So. - Siauliai, Lithuania)

*Dragos Ignat, Columbia (So. - Bacau, Romania)
*Winston Lin, Columbia (Jr. - Williamsville, N.Y.)
Sam Fleck, Cornell (Jr. - Cambridge, United Kingdom)
*Dovydas Sakinis, Dartmouth (So. - Siauliai, Lithuania)
*Denis Nguyen, Harvard (Jr. - Anaheim, Calif.)
Zack McCourt, Princeton (Jr. - Sunrise, Fla.)
*Tyler Lu, Yale (Fr. - Irvine, Calif.)

*Ashok Narayana, Columbia (Jr. - Houston)
*Max Schnur, Columbia (Jr. - Richmond, Va.)
Cameron Ghorbani, Dartmouth (Sr. - Lexington, Mass.)
Brendan Tannenbaum, Dartmouth (So. - Indianapolis)
*Casey MacMaster, Harvard (Sr. -  Fort Collins, Colo.)
*Denis Nguyen, Harvard (Jr. - Anaheim, Calif.)

Ashok Narayana, Columbia (Jr. - Houston)
Max Schnur, Columbia (Jr. - Richmond, Va.)
Stefan Vinti, Cornell (So. - Medias, Romania)
Chris Kipouras, Dartmouth (Jr. - San Ramon, Calif.)
Sebastian Beltrame, Harvard (Fr. - Windermere, Fla.)
Thomas Colautti, Princeton (Fr. - London)

Richard Pham, Columbia (Fr. - Saratoga, Calif.)
Sam Fleck, Cornell (Jr. - Cambridge, United Kingdom)
Jason Luu, Cornell (Jr. - Fairfax, Va.)
Quoc-Daniel Nguyen, Cornell (Jr. - Vienna, Va.)
Nicky Hu, Harvard (So. - Palo Alto, Calif.)
Brian Yeung, Harvard (Fr. - Hong Kong)

* Unanimous Selection
^ Due to ties in voting, there are seven singles players on the first team