Site Navigation

Princeton Leads After Day 1 of Heptagonal Men's Indoor Track & Field Championships

Princeton Leads After Day 1 of Heptagonal Men's Indoor Track & Field Championships

Championship Central | Results | Photo Gallery

HANOVER, N.H. -- No surprise, the teams that have combined to win 19 of the last 20 Ivy League Heptagonal Men's Indoor Track and Field Championships are at it again.

Through four events at Dartmouth's Leverone Field House, Princeton has a 42-33 lead over Cornell, with Harvard (12), Columbia (11), Brown (10), Dartmouth (6), Penn (6) and Yale (4) trailing behind.

Sunday's finals will begin at 11:30am and The Ivy League® Digital Network's live broadcast will go from 12:30 p.m. until after the awards ceremony.

The Tigers won a pair of field events on Day 1 of the Championships to push ahead of last year's winner, Cornell. Princeton senior Damon McLean, the defending champion in the long jump, finished second behind his teammate and fellow classmate, Tom Hopkins. They were joined on the podium by sophomore Jake Scinto, who placed fourth. Sophomore Adam Bragg gave his team 10 points in the pole vault, as he became the first Tiger to win since David Slovenski took the third of his back-to-back-to-back titles in 2011.

Cornell reached the top of the podium in one event on Saturday. Junior Stephen Mozia won the shot put with a heave of 68-2 ½, shattering the meet record set by Dartmouth's Adam Nelson in 1998 (63-4) and breaking Mozia's own all-time Ivy League mark. He is the first Big Red to win the shot put since Zach Beadle in 2005.

Including Mozia's record-setting performance, the Big Red earned points in three of the four finals on Saturday. Cornell took the other three spots in the long jump, as seniors Steven Bell, Mike Rabbitt and Montez Blair went 3-5-6, while in the pole vault, freshman Grant Sisserson and senior Peter Roach took second and third, respectively.

The only track finals of the day was the 3K, where the first two runners from the first section took first and second overall. Columbia sophomore Tait Rutherford became the first Lion to win the event since Kyle Merber in 2010, while Brown junior Jordan Mann took second. Penn sophomore Thomas Awad, who placed first in the second section, finished third overall.

1. Princeton
2. Cornell
3. Harvard
4. Columbia
5. Brown
6. Dartmouth