Site Navigation

Cross Country All-Region Teams and NCAA Championships At-Large Bids Announced

Cross Country All-Region Teams and NCAA Championships At-Large Bids Announced

Complete USTFCCCA Release

Complete NCAA Release

NEW ORLEANS -- The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) recognized 450 athletes that earned All-Region awards for cross country in Division I following this weekend’s NCAA Regional Championships, including 12 Ivy men and 12 Ivy women. Athletes of member schools that finished in the top 25 individually at one of the nine regional sites earned the honor.

Oklahoma led all men’s teams as each person on their full regional squad of seven finished among their respective region’s top 25. Texas, Texas A&M, and Wisconsin each placed six in the region’s top 25 for All-Region honors. Twelve more teams followed with their top five scorers earning the All-Region distinction.

Among conferences, The Big 12 and Big Ten each had 26 men make the All-Region list. The Big East (23), Pac-12 (21), ACC (19), SEC (18), and Ivy (12) followed with more than ten listed.

The Big Ten led all leagues with 29 women named to the list, followed by the Big East (26), Big 12 (24), Pac-12 (23), ACC (23), SEC (20), and Ivy (12).

Indiana State will host the NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships on Monday, Nov. 21, at the LaVern Gibson Championship Course located at the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center in Terre Haute, Ind.

Princeton’s men’s squad earned an at-large bid to the Championships, marking its second-straight trip to the NCAAs. Six individual Ivy cross country runners will compete in the tournament as well. On the men’s side, Brown senior Dan Lowry and Dartmouth senior Ethan Shaw each received berths while on the women’s side, Princeton senior Alex Banfich and junior Alexis Mikaelian will join Dartmouth sophomore Abbey D’Agostino and Columbia freshman Waverly Neer in the tournament.

The men’s race will begin at approximately 12:08 pm ET, followed by the women’s race at approximately 12:58 pm A live webcast of the championships will be broadcast from noon to 1:30 pm ET on In addition, highlights from the championships will be included as part of the CBS NCAA Fall Seasonal Show scheduled to air on Saturday, Dec. 18, from 1:00 to 2:00 pm ET on CBS HD.

Ivy League All-Region Selections (Men)
Dan Lowry, Brown, Northeast Region
Matt Duffy, Brown, Northeast Region
Mike Murphy, Columbia, Northeast Region
Leighton Spencer, Columbia, Northeast Region
Kyle Merber, Columbia, Northeast Region
Nico Composto, Columbia, Northeast Region
Justin Heck, Columbia, Northeast Region
Ethan Shaw, Dartmouth, Northeast Region
John Bleday, Dartmouth, Northeast Region
Donn Cabral, Princeton, Mid-Atlantic Region
Chris Bendtsen, Princeton, Mid-Atlantic Region
Eddie Owens, Princeton, Mid-Atlantic Region

Ivy League All-Region Selections (Women)
Heidi Caldwell, Brown, Northeast Region
Margaret Connelly, Brown, Northeast Region
Waverly Neer, Columbia, Northeast Region
Caroline McDonough, Columbia, Northeast Region
Katie Kellner, Cornell, Northeast Region
Genna Hartung, Cornell, Northeast Region
Abbey D’Agostino, Dartmouth, Northeast Region
Liana Epstein, Yale, Northeast Region
Elizabeth Marvin, Yale, Northeast Region
Alex Banfich, Princeton, Mid-Atlantic Region
Alexis Mikaelian, Princeton, Mid-Atlantic Region
Greta Feldman, Princeton, Mid-Atlantic Region