Site Navigation

Another Three-Peat of Heptagonal Men's Cross Country Championship for Princeton

Another Three-Peat of Heptagonal Men's Cross Country Championship for Princeton

Championship Central | Final Results | Interview with Chris Bendsten | Interview with Jason Vigilante | Highlights | Photo Gallery

PRINCETON, N.J. -- The Princeton men's cross country team earned its second three-peat in seven years, winning the 2012 Ivy League Heptagonal Cross Country Championship with a team score of 26 points, Saturday at the West Windsor Fields in Princeton, N.J.

The 23rd-ranked Tigers upset No. 10 Columbia, which earned 58 points to place second. Dartmouth came in third with 77 points, followed by Cornell (83), Harvard (131), Yale (158), Penn (185) and Brown (223). Princeton won its League-leading 18th title since the Ivy League began in 1956 thanks to the lowest points total since the Tigers earned 25 in 1997.

Led by juniors Chris Bendsten and Alejandro Arroyo Yamin, who finished 1-2, the Tigers placed their top six runners on the All-Ivy teams, including four on the first team. It marks the first time that one school put four runners on the first team since Dartmouth accomplished the feat in 2005. Bendsten crossed the line in 23:41.8, followed by Arroyo Yamin in 23:48.1. Junior Tyler Udland, the only returning first-team All-Ivy honoree from a year ago, placed fourth with a time of 23:51.3 and classmate Jonathan Vitez crossed the line in 23:57.8 to take seventh.

Sophomores Eddie Owens (24:06.6) and Matt McDonald (24:13.0) placed 12th and 14th, respectively, although McDonald's points did not count towards the overall team score because he was the sixth Tiger to cross the line.

Columbia placed all seven of its runners finished among the top-25, including its first five in the top-20. Seniors Leighton Spencer (23:50.6) and Mike Murphy (23:59.3) led the way, crossing the line in third and eighth, respectively. Junior Jake Sienko earned second-team All-Ivy honors with a 13th-place finish, crossing the line in 24:12.5.

Dartmouth junior Will Geoghegan and senior Phil Royer went 5-6 with times of 23:54.2 and 23:57.6, respectively. Cornell's fourth-place finish was its highest since tying for third in 2009. The Big Red was led by senior Nick Wade, whose time of 24:02.8 was good for ninth, the highest place for a Cornell runner since Adrien Dannemiller took seventh in 2010. Yale sophomore Matthew Nussbaum finished in 10th (24:05.0) to become the first Bulldog to place among the top-10 since Jeff Perrella took ninth in 2010.

The top seven individual finishers earn All-Ivy first team honors and the eighth through 14th-place winners earn second team honors.

Final Team Standings (Points)
1. Princeton (26)
2. Columbia (58)
3. Dartmouth (77)
4. Cornell (83)
5. Harvard (131)
6. Yale (158)
7. Penn (185)
8. Brown (223)

2012 Men's Cross Country All-Ivy
First Team
Chris Bendtsen, Princeton, Jr.
Alejandro Arroyo Yamin, Princeton, Jr.
Leighton Spencer, Columbia, Sr.
Tyler Udland, Princeton, Jr.
Will Geoghegan, Dartmouth, Jr.
Phil Royer, Dartmouth, Sr.
Jonathan Vitez, Princeton, Jr.

Second Team
Mike Murphy, Columbia, Sr.
Nick Wade, Cornell, Sr.
Matthew Nussbaum, Yale, So.
Max Groves, Cornell, Jr.
Eddie Owens, Princeton, So.
Jake Sienko, Columbia, Jr.
Matt McDonald, Princeton, So.