Site Navigation

Dartmouth's Smith Named 2011 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Candidate

Dartmouth's Brittney Smith
Dartmouth's Brittney Smith

Courtesy Lowe's Public Relations and Dartmouth Athletics Communications

OVERLAND PARK, Kansas -- Dartmouth senior forward Brittney Smith (Fort Worth, Texas) was among thirty NCAA women’s student-athletes who excel both on and off the court selected as candidates for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in basketball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

A forward and co-captain, Smith is the only player from the Ivy League to be named a candidate on either the men's or women's side. Impressively, she is the third Dartmouth women's basketball player in the last four years to be named a candidate for the award. Koren Schram '09 was one of 10 national finalists in 2008-09 and Sydney Scott '08 was a candidate in 2007-08.

A two-time first team All-Ivy honoree, Smith has won two Ivy Championships during her career and was named the 2009 Ivy League Player of the Year as a sophomore. That honor came one year after she was unanimously selected the Ivy League Rookie of the Year in 2008. The senior is also a past recipient of the Dartmouth Class of 1976 Award as the school's top female athlete and is a Wearers of the Green inductee. Statistically, she has already reached 1,080 career points and ranks fourth all-time in career rebounds with 762. She is on pace to become just the third player in Dartmouth history and seventh in Ivy League history to amass 1,000 career points and 1,000 career rebounds.

Like all of the Lowe's candidates, Smith is a well-rounded student-athlete, majoring in sociology and engaging in a wide array of community service activities. She has participated in a Spanish language study abroad program in Mexico and in 2010, worked for the X-Mester program that exposes high school students to the college experience.

Active in the community, Smith has volunteered at Thetford Elementary School, the Haven and with the Special Olympics. She also helped organize a three-on-three basketball tournament to benefit earthquake victims in Haiti in the spring of 2010. This year, Smith is participating in Dartmouth's "Big Sib" program through which upperclassmen mentor freshmen.

The 2011 women’s candidate class includes five players who were CoSIDA Academic All-Americans last year, 22 student-athletes with grade point averages of 3.0 or better, four players who participated in the 2010 Women’s Final Four and 15 players on the preseason watch list for the John R. Wooden Award. Lowe’s, anofficial Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the men’s basketball Senior CLASS Award® winner at the NCAA Men’s Final Four® in Houston and the women’s basketball Senior CLASS Award winner at the NCAA Women’s Final Four® in Indianapolis.

The candidate class will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

“The young men and women who have been selected as candidates for the basketball award are shining examples of student-athletes who exercise time management every day, juggling class work and community service with practice and games,” said Tom Lamb, Lowe’s senior vice president of marketing. “The ability to balance things that are important to them will be a skill they will use throughout their lives.”

For more information on all the candidates, visit

2010-11 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Women's Basketball Candidates

Name, Position, School
Kachine Alexander, Guard, Iowa
Erin Anthony, Forward, Army
Angie Bjorklund, Guard/Forward, Tennessee
Jessica Breland, Forward, North Carolina
Victoria Dunlap, Forward, Kentucky
Dawn Evans, Guard, James Madison
Amber Harris, Forward, Xavier
Ify Ibekwe, Forward, Arizona
Amy Jaeschke, Center, Northwestern
Alyssa Karel, Guard, Wisconsin
Michelle Kirk, Forward, American
Jantel Lavender, Center, Ohio State
Maya Moore, Forward, Connecticut
Kayla Pedersen, Forward, Stanford
Ta’Shia Phillips, Center, Xavier
Julie Piper, Forward, Eastern Washington
Jeanette Pohlen, Guard, Stanford
Lauren Prochaska, Forward, Bowling Green
Erica Prosser, Guard, Lehigh
Sam Quigley, Guard, DePaul
Liz Repella, Guard, West Virginia
Jence Rhoads, Guard, Vanderbilt
Danielle Robinson, Guard, Oklahoma
Jaleesa Ross, Guard, Fresno State
Sam Schuett, Forward, Creighton
Brittney Smith, Forward, Dartmouth
Helena Sverrisdottir, Guard/Forward, TCU
Kayla Tetschlag, Guard/Forward, Green Bay
Jasmine Thomas, Guard, Duke
Courtney Vandersloot, Guard, Gonzaga