Site Navigation

NATIONAL CHAMPS! Brown Wins 2011 NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championship

NATIONAL CHAMPS! Brown Wins 2011 NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championship

Complete coverage: |

GOLD RIVER, Calif. -- NCAA champion by five hundredths of a second.

That slimmest of margins was the difference to propel Brown to the 2011 NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championship at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center in Gold River, Calif.

Brown won its seventh NCAA women's rowing title in unconventional fashion, by tie-breaker. The Bears finished the final day on Lake Natoma with the same number of team points (85) as Stanford so the results in the first varsity eight grand final had to decide which team would take home the NCAA title. Brown edged Stanford by .05 second for second place in Sunday's final race and that difference proved to be the winning margin for head coach John Murphy's crew.

Brown's win gives the Ivy League its eighth NCAA title in women's rowing (1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2007, 2008 and 2011).

The Bears started out the day with a win in the varsity four petite final. The Bears' four came on strong over the second half of the race, taking the lead in the final 1,000 meters to finish in a time of 7:17.67, just under a second ahead of Ohio State.

Stanford was too much for the Bears in the second varsity eight grand final, leading wire to wire in a winning time of 6:26.76, almost three seconds in front of Brown (6:29.41).

The first varsity eight grand final was a classic battle as Princeton crossed the finish line first in a time of 6:27.12, ahead of Brown (6:28.62) and Stanford (6:28.67). Ranked No. 1 most of the season, Princeton lived up to its top billing by leading the race throughout for its first NCAA event title since 2006. The Tigers' impressive win kept the title of the nation's the fastest first varsity eight boat home with the Ivy League for the second-straight year and fifth time in the last six championships.

Princeton ended the day in fourth place with 72 points to give the League two teams in the top six of the team competition. The Ancient Eight has had at least two teams finish in the top six every year since the championship began in 1997.

Ivy boats also captured two third-level final victories on the day with Dartmouth winning in the second varsity eight and Harvard winning in the first varsity eight.

Highlights of the 2011 Divisions I, II and III Women’s Rowing Championships will appear on the CBS Sports Presents Championships of the NCAA (spring seasonal show), set to air at 4 p.m. ET, Sunday, June 19 on CBS.

2011 NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championships Team Results

  School Points
1. Brown 85*
2. Stanford 85
3. California 83
4. Princeton 72*
5. Southern California 72
6. Virginia 69
7. Michigan State 55
8. Washington 54
9. Wisconsin 44
10. Ohio State 44
11. Yale 42
12 Washington State 39
13. Michigan 33
14. Harvard 17
15. Clemson 12
16. Dartmouth 10


*Brown wins the NCAA Championship by tie-breaker, finishing ahead of Stanford in the first varsity eight grand final. Princeton finshes fourth by virtue of its win in the first varsity eight grand final.