Site Navigation

Five Ivy Teams Receive 2011 NCAA Women's Rowing Championship Selection

Five Ivy Teams Receive 2011 NCAA Women's Rowing Championship Selection

2011 NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championships: Release | Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS -- For the second time in three years, the Ivy League has five teams in the field for the NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championships.

Brown, Dartmouth, Harvard, Princeton and Yale were announced as a part of the 16-team field for the 2011 championships, which will be held May 27-29 at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center in Gold River, Calif. with Washington State University once again serving as the host.

The five selections ties a League-record as the same five schools were also selected to the 2009 championships.

Brown and Princeton have made the championship field as a team every year since the championship began in 1997. Harvard is making its 12th team and 13th overall NCAA championship appearance with its varsity eight competing as an at-large in the 1997 championship. Yale is making its 11th team appearance while Dartmouth returns to the championship as a team for its fourth all-time team appearance and fifth overall with its varsity eight appearance in 2007.

The team championships are comprised of 16 teams and each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers.

The following teams were selected to the 2011 championships:

Michigan State
Ohio State
Southern California
Washington State

Ivy schools own seven of the 14 NCAA team titles (1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2007 and 2008). Brown holds six of those titles (1999, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2007 and 2008) with Harvard winning it all in 2003.

Highlights of the Divisions I, II and III Women’s Rowing Championships will appear on the 2011 CBS Sports Presents Championships of the NCAA (spring seasonal show), set to air at 4 p.m. ET Sunday, June 19 on CBS.