Site Navigation

Brown's Murphy, Cornell’s Gehman Earn 2010 EAWRC Awards

Cornell's Hilary Gehman
Cornell's Hilary Gehman

Courtesy of Brown Sports Information Cornell Athletic Communications

CAPE COD, Mass. -- The Eastern Association of Women’s Rowing Colleges (EAWRC), an affiliate of the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC), has named Cornell's Hilary Gehman its 2010 Head Coach of the Year and Brown’s Phoebe Murphy as its 2010 Assistant Coach of the Year.

Gehman, Cornell's Staley Head Coach of Women’s Rowing, receives her second coaching accolade following the 2010 season as she was named the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association Mid-Atlantic Coach of the Year this past summer. Murphy has earned her sixth EAWRC Assistant Coach of the Year Award (formerly known as the Novice Coach of the Year Award).
“It’s nice to be recognized by the EAWRC, but our success last season was a total group effort,” said Gehman. “We had a dedicated group of athletes and a great support staff and that allowed us to move the program in the right direction. Winning this award is a sign that other coaches recognize that progress.”
In just her fourth season at the helm of the program, Gehman guided the Big Red to a fourth-place finish in the Willing Point Trophy, given to the team with the most total points at the 2010 EAWRC Sprints. The Big Red received bronze medals in the Third Varsity 8 and Varsity B Four events. Cornell also finished in sixth place of the Varsity 8, fifth in Second Varsity 8 and fourth in the Third Varsity 4.
Gehman also directed the Big Red to its first national ranking since May 5, 2004, when the team came in at No. 20 in the USRowing/Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association NCAA Division I Coaches poll on April 15. The rankings are based on the results of the Varsity 8, Second Varsity 8, and Varsity 4 crews.

Murphy assisted in guiding the Bears to a second-place Willing Point Trophy finish at the 2010 EAWRC Sprints. The Bears received gold medals in the Third Varsity Four, Third Varsity Eight and Varsity B Four events at the 2010 EAWRC Sprints.  In addition, Brown finished in first place in the Third Varsity C Four, second in the Second Varsity Eight and third in the Varsity Eight events.

At the 2010 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Women’s Rowing Championships, Brown received gold in the Second Varsity Eight event. The Bears placed fifth in the Varsity Four and came in second place in the Varsity Eight Petite Final.

Gehman and Murphy will receive their 2010 EAWRC Coach of the Year and Assistant Coach of the Year awards at the 2011 EAWRC Sprints Coaches meeting on Saturday, May 14 at the Cooper River (Camden County, N.J.).