Site Navigation

Five Ivy Teams in Title Contention at the NCAA Women's Rowing Championships

Lake Mercer Boathouse
Lake Mercer Boathouse

2012 NCAA Women's Rowing Championships:
Schedule | Live Video: Friday | Saturday | Sunday

WEST WINDOR, N.J. -- With five teams in the 2012 NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championships, the Ivy League looks to maintain its 16-year dominance at the national championship regatta.

Brown, Cornell, Harvard (Radcliffe), Princeton and Yale head the 16-team field competing May 25-27 on Lake Mercer in in West Windsor, N.J. The five selections ties an Ivy League record as the conference boasted five entries in the 2009 and 2011 championships.

Defending NCAA champion Brown and Princeton have made the championship field as a team all 16 years of the championship. Cornell is making its first-ever team appearance and its first since the Big Red's varsity eight received an at-large bid in 2002. Radcliffe is appearing in its 13th NCAA Championship as a team (14th overall) and Yale is making its 12th trip as a team.

Highlights of the Divisions I, II and III Women's Rowing Championships will appear on the spring edition of CBS Sports Presents Championships of the NCAA (spring seasonal show), set to air at 4 p.m. ET, Sunday, June 17 on CBS.

Ivy League schools own eight of the 15 NCAA team titles (1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2007, 2008 and 2011). Brown holds seven of those titles (1999, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2007, 2008 and 2011) with Harvard winning it all in 2003. The League has had at least two teams finish in the top six in all 15 previous championships:

1997: Princeton (2nd), Brown (3rd), Yale (5th)
1998: Brown (2nd), Princeton (6th)
1999: Brown (1st), Princeton (4th)
2000: Brown (1st), Princeton (6th)
2001: Brown (3rd), Princeton (5th)
2002: Brown (1st), Yale (6th)
2003: Harvard (1st), Yale (6th)
2004: Brown (1st), Yale (2nd), Princeton (6th)
2005: Brown (3rd), Princeton (5th), Harvard (6th)
2006: Brown (2nd), Princeton (3rd)
2007: Brown (1st), Yale (4th)
2008: Brown (1st), Yale (4th)
2009: Yale (3rd), Brown (5th)
2010: Princeton (3rd), Brown (5th), Yale (6th)
2011: Brown (1st), Princeton (4th)

Ivy League boats have also rowed with great success in the NCAA championship regatta with 21 event championships to the League's credit. Ivy boats have won four event titles in the fours, eight in the second varsity eights and nine in the first varsity eights. The Ivies have shown its dominance in the varsity eights in recent history with the fastest boats in the first and second varsity eights in three of the past four championships. The League has twice swept all three events in 2003 and 2006.

1997 - Brown
2002 - Brown
2003 - Brown
2006 - Brown

II Eights
1997 - Princeton
2000 - Brown
2003 - Brown
2004 - Brown
2006 - Brown
2008 - Brown
2009 - Yale
2010 - Brown

I Eights
1999 - Brown
2000 - Brown
2003 - Harvard
2004 - Brown
2006 - Princeton
2007 - Yale
2008 - Yale
2010 - Yale
2011 - Princeton

Brown's 2010 NCAA event title in the second varsity eight came in a championship record time of 6:25.72. The Bears led wire-to-wire, far outdistancing second-place Stanford. In the shell for Brown were Anna Vresilovic, Ali Mittelberger, Casey Kelsey, Sarah Huebscher, Hannah Malvin, Catherine Borders, Allison Courtin, Corlis Gross, and Ellie Smith (coxswain).

The NCAA Women's Rowing Championships were last held on Lake Mercer in 2006 when the League swept all three individual boat titles and Brown finished second to California by tiebreaker for the team title. Brown and California tied with 66 team points but Cal earned the trophy by virtue of its second-place finish in the varsity eight grand final, just 0.261 second ahead of Brown.