Site Navigation

Three Women's Rowing Teams Hit the Water at NCAA Championships This Weekend

Three Women's Rowing Teams Hit the Water at NCAA Championships This Weekend

Schedule | Results | Live Video | Heat Sheets: Friday

Photo courtesy of Peter Bick Photography

INDIANAPOLIS -- Princeton, Brown and Harvard (Radcliffe) comprise the Ivy League women's rowing contingent vying for championship gold this weekend at the 2014 NCAA Women's Rowing Championships at Eagle Creek Park.

The trio of Ivies keeps the League's streak alive of boasting at least three teams in the NCAA Championship field since the event began in 1997. Brown and Princeton have made every NCAA Championship since its inception, while Harvard is appearing in its 15th as a team and 16th overall as its varsity eight competed as an at-large in the 1997 championship.

Racing for Division I teams get underway on Friday, May 30 with first of four varsity eight heats at 9:10 a.m. followed by four heats for the second varsity eight scheduled to start at 9:50 a.m. and four heats for the varsity four set for 10:30 a.m. Crews are back on the water Friday afternoon beginning at 3:50 p.m. for the repechages.

Saturday's semifinals and Sunday's finals begin each day at 8:30 a.m.

Ivy League schools own eight of the 17 NCAA team titles (1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2007, 2008 and 2011). Brown holds seven of those titles (1999, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2007, 2008 and 2011) with Harvard winning it all in 2003. The League has had at least two teams finish in the top 10 in all 17 previous championships:

1997: Princeton (2nd), Brown (3rd), Yale (5th)
1998: Brown (2nd), Princeton (6th)
1999: Brown (1st), Princeton (4th)
2000: Brown (1st), Princeton (6th)
2001: Brown (3rd), Princeton (5th)
2002: Brown (1st), Yale (6th)
2003: Harvard (1st), Yale (6th)
2004: Brown (1st), Yale (2nd), Princeton (6th)
2005: Brown (3rd), Princeton (5th), Harvard (6th)
2006: Brown (2nd), Princeton (3rd)
2007: Brown (1st), Yale (4th)
2008: Brown (1st), Yale (4th)
2009: Yale (3rd), Brown (5th)
2010: Princeton (3rd), Brown (5th), Yale (6th)
2011: Brown (1st), Princeton (4th)
2012: Princeton (4th), Yale (10th)
2013: Princeton (3rd), Brown (7th), Yale (8th)

Ivy League boats have also rowed with great success in the NCAA championship regatta with 21 event championships to the League's credit. Ivy boats have won four event titles in the fours, eight in the second varsity eights and nine in the first varsity eights.

Brown leads with the country with 13 individual boat titles. Washington is second on the list with nine followed by Virginia (8), Yale (4), Princeton (3), Ohio State (3), California (3), Michigan (2) and Stanford (2). Harvard is among four schools that have one individual title.

The Ivies have shown its dominance in the varsity eights in recent history with the fastest boat in the first varsity eight in five of the last eight championships and in the second varsity eight in three of the last six championships. The League has twice swept all three events in 2003 and 2006.

1997 - Brown
2002 - Brown
2003 - Brown
2006 - Brown

II Eights
1997 - Princeton
2000 - Brown
2003 - Brown
2004 - Brown
2006 - Brown
2008 - Brown
2009 - Yale
2010 - Brown

I Eights
1999 - Brown
2000 - Brown
2003 - Harvard
2004 - Brown
2006 - Princeton
2007 - Yale
2008 - Yale
2010 - Yale
2011 - Princeton

Brown's 2010 NCAA event title in the second varsity eight came in a championship record time of 6:25.72. The Bears led wire-to-wire, far outdistancing second-place Stanford. In the shell for Brown were Anna Vresilovic, Ali Mittelberger, Casey Kelsey, Sarah Huebscher, Hannah Malvin, Catherine Borders, Allison Courtin, Corlis Gross, and Ellie Smith (coxswain).

The NCAA Women's Rowing Championships are back on the Eagle Creek Reservoir for a third time (2003, 2013 and 2014).

In 2003, the League went 1-2 as Harvard won its first NCAA title with 59 points and Brown finished just two points behind in second place. The Ivies swept all three grand finals as the Bears took first in the varsity four and second varsity eight titles and the Crimson crossed the line first in the varsity eight.

Last year, Brown was the League's top boat in the second varsity eight (third) and varsity four (fifth) and Princeton came in second in the first varsity eight grand final just over a second behind California.