Site Navigation

Harvard's Alexandra Kiefer Claims Foil Title at the 2011 NCAA Fencing Championships

Complete Results

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- The 2011 NCAA Fencing Championships came to a close on Sunday and several Ivy League student-athletes figured prominently in the women’s championship bouts, led by 2011 foil National Champion Alexandra Kiefer of Harvard. In the team standings, Princeton led the Ivies with a fourth place showing, followed by sixth place Harvard, seventh place Columbia and eighth place Penn.

With a 15-7 win in the championship bout over Princeton’s Eve Levin, Kiefer became the eighth Ivy League student-athlete to claim the women’s foil national title. Kiefer was the second seed after pool play, while Levin was the fourth seed. In the semifinals, Levin downed top-seeded Doris Willette of Penn State, 15-12. Keifer took out Evgeniya Kirpicheva of St. John’s, 15-12, in the other semifinal bout. For their top-four finishes, both Keifer and Levin were awarded first team All-American honors. Princeton’s Hyun-Kyung Yuh finished sixth to be named a second team All American.

In women’s sabre, Eliza Stone of Princeton and Caroline Vloka of Harvard made it to the direct elimination portion of the championship race, as Stone totaled 20 wins on the weekend and Vloka 19. Top-seeded Stone took down fourth-seeded Eileen Hassett of Notre Dame in one semifinal bout, 15-14. In the other semifinal, Duke’s Rebecca Ward bested Vloka in a rematch of last season’s championship bout, 15-11. In the final, Ward proved victorious over Stone, 15-12. With their top-four finishes, Stone and Ward earned first team All-American honors. Finishing with 12 wins apiece, Diamond Wheeler of Princeton, Samantha Roberts of Columbia and
Loweye Diedro, also of Columbia, earned third team All-America honors in women’s sabre.

In epee, Harvard’s Noam Mills finished atop the field following pool play with 21 victories to advance to the semifinals as the top seed. In the semis, Mills downed Margherita Guzzi Vincenti of Penn State, 15-8. But in the championship bout, Mills was edged by Courtney Hurley of Notre Dame, 8-7. Also finishing in the epee top-12 to earn All-America status were Penn’s Amrit Bhinder, Columbia’s Lydia Kopecky and Princeton’s Hannah Safford.    

2011 Ivy League All-Americans

Men’s Epee (5)
First Team: Jonathan Yergler (Princeton)
First Team: Peter Cohen (Yale)     
Second Team: Mike Raynis (Harvard)
Third Team: Alen Hadzic (Columbia)
Third Team: Jacob Wischnia (Penn)

Men’s Foil (4)
Second Team: Nathaniel Botwinick (Yale)
Second Team: Alexander Mills (Princeton)
Third Team: Alexander Pensler (Columbia)
Third Team: Vidur Kapur (Penn)

Men’s Sabre (2)
First Team: Evan Prochniak (Penn)
Third Team: Valentin Staller (Harvard)

Women’s Epee (4)
First Team: Noam Mills (Harvard)
Second Team: Amrit Bhinder (Penn)
Second Team: Lydia Kopecky (Columbia)
Third Team: Hannah Safford (Princeton)

Women’s Foil (3)
First Team: Alexandra Kiefer (Harvard)
First Team: Eve Levin (Princeton)
Second Team: Hyun-Kyung Yuh (Princeton)     

Women’s Sabre (5)
First Team: Eliza Stone (Princeton)
First Team: Caroline Vloka (Harvard)
Third Team: Diamond Wheeler (Princeton)
Third Team: Samantha Roberts (Columbia)
Third Team: Loweye Diedro (Columbia)

Final Standings
1. Notre Dame, 174
2. Pennsylvania State, 168
3. St. John’s University, 155
4. Princeton, 150
5. Ohio State, 148
6. Harvard, 137
7. Columbia, 94     
8. Penn, 91     
9. Duke, 74     
10. Stanford, 72
11. Northwestern, 52     
12. Yale, 50           
13. Brown, 39     
13. Temple, 39                       
13. Air Force,     39           
16.  Sacred Heart, 27                
17. Cornell, 19                
18. Vassar College, 18                     
19. UNC, 16               
20. Brandeis, 15                
21. M.I.T., 11                        
21. Wayne State, 11                             
23. Boston College, 9                              
23. NYU, 9                            
25. Detroit Mercy, 8                           
25.  Drew, 8                     
27. Cleveland State, 7                     
27. U.C. San Diego, 7         
29. Hunter College, 6          
30. Cal Tech, 3