Site Navigation

Six Ivy Women's Hockey Players Named 2012 Patty Kazmaier Award Nominees

Cornell's Rebecca Johnston
Cornell's Rebecca Johnston

Complete List of Nominees | Cornell Release | Harvard Release

Portions Courtesy of USA Hockey

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- Thirty players are among the list of nominees for the 15th annual Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, presented by Easton Foundations. An award for The USA Hockey Foundation, the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is annually bestowed upon the top player in NCAA Division I women's ice hockey.

Held in conjunction with the NCAA Women's Frozen Four, the 2012 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award will be awarded at a brunch ceremony on March 17 at the Greysolon Ballroom in Duluth, Minn.

The list of 30 nominated players includes 21 forwards, five defensemen and four goaltenders hailing from 15 different schools in all four NCAA Division I women's ice hockey leagues.

The 34 NCAA Division I women's ice hockey head coaches will select the top-10 finalists from among the group of 30 nominees, with the announcement taking place on March 1. A 13-member selection committee will choose the three finalists (announced March 8), as well as the award recipient, which will be announced live at the brunch ceremony in Duluth on March 17.

Ivy League Nominees
Jillian Dempsey, Harvard (Jr., F; Winthrop, Mass.)
Laura Fortino, Cornell (Jr., D; Hamilton, Ontario)
Brianne Jenner, Cornell (So., F; Oakville, Ontario)
Rebecca Johnston, Cornell (Sr., F; Sudbury, Ontario)
Josephine Pucci, Harvard (Jr., D; Pearl River, N.Y.)
Lauriane Rougeau, Cornell (Jr., D; Beaconsfield, Quebec)