Site Navigation

Harvard, Cornell Receive NCAA Women's Ice Hockey Championship Bids

Harvard, Cornell Receive NCAA Women's Ice Hockey Championship Bids


INDIANAPOLIS -- Cornell and Harvard are among the eight teams that will be competing for the 14th National Collegiate Women's Ice Hockey Championship, as announced by the National Collegiate Women's Ice Hockey Committee on Sunday evening.

Cornell (24-5-2) won the ECAC Women's Ice Hockey Tournament championship earlier in the day Sunday, defeating Clarkson on its home ice, 1-0, to earn an automatic bid.

The Big Red had defeated Harvard on Saturday in the semifinals, 6-4. It is Cornell's fourth ECAC Tournament title in the last five years. An Ivy League school has now won 16 of the last 17 ECAC titles. 

It is the 17th-consecutive year that the Crimson have advanced to the ECAC's semifinal round. Cornell has now made it to the ECAC Tournament's semifinals each of the last six seasons. 

In Saturday's title game win, sophomore defender Cassandra Poulier scored the lone goal of the game to lift Cornell past Clarkson. The Big Red had been ranked No. 5 this week while Clarkson was No. 3 in the polls. 

Cornell is the NCAA Championship's No. 2 seed and will host Mercyhurst (23-8-2) next Saturday. Third-seeded Clarkson (28-5-5) and Boston College (27-6-3) will play in the other quarterfinal game. 

Harvard (23-6-4), the Ivy League champion in 2013-14, will travel to Madison, Wisc. to take on fourth-seeded Wisconsin (27-7-2). The other quarterfinal in that half of the bracket will have top-seeded Minnesota (36-1-1) hosting Boston University (23-12-1). 

Harvard is 6-9 all-time in the tournament, while Cornell is 4-4. Both teams lost in the quarterfinal round of the tournament last year.  

The Women's Frozen Four will take place March 21 and 23 in Hamden, Conn.