Site Navigation

Women's Lacrosse Tournament Host and Participating Teams Announced

Women's Lacrosse Tournament Host and Participating Teams Announced

PRINCETON, N.J. -- The four-team field for the 2011 Ivy League Women's Lacrosse Tournament has been set, while Penn has been named the host institution for the second annual tournament, to be contested on Friday, May 6 and Sunday, May 8. The tournament champion earns the Ivy League's automatic bid to the 2011 NCAA Division I Women's Lacrosse Championship.

Penn (10-4, 6-1 Ivy), which clinched a share of the 2011 regular-season Ivy League title Saturday with a 12-5 win over Brown, will be the No. 1 seed and host the tournament at Franklin Field. Joining the Quakers in Philadephia will be Dartmouth (9-3, 5-1 Ivy), Harvard (9-4, 5-1 Ivy) and Princeton (7-6, 4-2 Ivy).

Either Dartmouth or Harvard will earn a share of the 2011 title along with Penn following the outcome of their contest on Friday, April 29 at 7 p.m. in Hanover, N.H. Penn, however, secured tournament hosting duties due to holding the tiebreak over the Big Green and Crimson with wins against both squads during the regular-season. The winner of that game will earn the tournament's No. 2 seed while the loser will be seeded third.

Princeton will earn the fourth seed, regardless of the outcome of its final regular-season Ivy game on April 27 against Columbia. Losses to both Dartmouth and Harvard during the regular-season gives either team a tiebreaker advantage over the Tigers.

For the second consecutive year, CBS Sports Network (CBSSN) will be the television partner for the 2011 Ivy League Women's Lacrosse Tournament championship game, which airs live on Sunday, May 8 at 1:00 p.m., ET. Start times for Friday's semifinal games are still to be determined.

Complete seed information, site specifics, semifinal game times and ticket information will be announced next week.

2011 Ivy League Women's Lacrosse Tournament Schedule

Friday, May 6
Semifinal Game 1: No. 2/3 seed Dartmouth vs. No. 2/3 seed Harvard, Time TBD
Semifinal Game 2: No. 1 seed Penn vs. No. 4 seed Princeton, Time TBD

Sunday, May 8
Championship Game: Winner Semifinal Game 1 vs. Winner Semifinal Game 2, 1 p.m.


Tournament History
The Quakers hosted the inagural Ivy League Women's Lacrosse Tournament in 2010 after going 7-0 in regular-season Ivy play. Penn won that tournament with a 13-9 semifinal win over Princeton and a 9-8 victory over Dartmouth in the championship game. Harvard is the one newcomer to the tournament, as Cornell joined the Quakers, Big Green and Tigers in the four-team field one year ago.

Ivy Title History
The Quakers clinched their fifth consecutive Ivy title, and their seventh all-time, finsihing League play with a 6-1 mark...this is the third shared title for Penn, which was also a co-champion in 1980 and 1982...the last team to win five straight League championships was Dartmouth, doing so from 1997-2001...that run included shared titles in 1997 and 2001...Harvard holds the longest streak, winning six straight (including one co-championship) from 1988-1993...a Dartmouth co-championship in 2011 will be the first for the Big Green since 2005...a Harvard co-championship will be the first for the Crimson since 1993...six of the eight Ivies have won the women's lacrosse title at least once since its inception in 1980...only Brown and Columbia are still in search of an Ivy title.