Site Navigation

Two Ivy Women's Lacrosse Players Still In The Running For Tewaarton Award

Two Ivy Women's Lacrosse Players Still In The Running For Tewaarton Award

Portions courtesy of Cornell Athletic Communications and Dartmouth Athletics Communications

Tewaarton Award Nominees

WASHINGTON -- The Tewaaraton Foundation announced the 2012 Tewaaraton Award nominees, as twenty-five student-athletes made the list and remain in the running for the 12th annual Tewaaraton Award. The honor is presented annually to the top male and female collegiate players in the country. The list includes two Ivy League players, Dartmouth senior midfielder Sarah Plumb and Cornell senior attack Jessi Steinberg.

Plumb ranks as one of the top individuals in the Ivy League this season with 42 points on 31 goals and 11 assists. Her 67 draw controls are a Dartmouth single-season record and are 19 more than any other player in the league in 2012. She recently moved into sole possession of first place all-time in program history with 141 draws for her career, a figure that also broke the Ivy League mark of 140 that had stood for a decade.

Plumb also is tied for the conference lead with three game-winning goals this season, including two against Ivy foes (Yale and Penn) and the second-overtime, sudden-victory goal against No. 3 Duke on March 17 at Scully-Fahey Field.

Steinberg leads Cornell with 63 points on 44 goals and 19 assists. She has scored a hat trick eight different times this year and has scored at least four goals in a game on seven occasions.  Throughout the year, she has moved farther and farther up the Cornell career goals and points list and now sits in third-place all-time in goals with 136. She is sixth in points and is just seven goals shy of becoming the program’s all-time goals leader.

Nationally, Steinberg is ranked 33rd in total points, 12th in points per game (4.62) and 16th in goals per game (3.23).

Five women’s finalists (along with five men's finalists) will be selected and honored on May 31, 2012, at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian in Washington.