Site Navigation

Women's Lacrosse All-Ivy -- 2014

Women's Lacrosse All-Ivy -- 2014

Tournament Central
Complete Women's Lacrosse Tournament Release in pdf format

Photos courtesy of Cornell Athletic Communications, Penn Athletic Communications and Princeton Athletic Communications

PRINCETON, N.J. -- For the second-straight year, the Ivy League women's lacrosse postseason awards are going to Cornell, Penn and Princeton -- just not in the same order as last season.

After a vote by the League's eight head coaches, Cornell junior Lindsay Toppe (Bedford, N.Y.), Princeton senior Sarah Lloyd (Severna Park, Md.) and Penn junior Meg Markham (Manhasset, N.Y.) were selected Attacker of the Year, Midfielder of the Year and Defender of the Year, respectively.

In 2013, the first year the League handed out these three particular awards, Princeton's Erin McMunn was named Attacker of the Year, Penn's Shannon Mangini was voted Midfielder of the Year and Cornell's Kate Ivory took home Defender of the Year.

Toppe's award gives Cornell postseason honors in back-to-back seasons for the first time in program history. Toppe ranks second in the League in goals (45), goals per game (3.0), points (56) and points per game (3.7). She has scored at least one goal and recorded at least two points in all 15 contests this season, including 11 games in which she netted at least three goals. Toppe becomes the fifth Big Red to take home a postseason award, and she was also named to the first team for the second-straight year but first as a unanimous selection.

Lloyd was a unanimous vote for Midfielder of the Year, marking the first time all eight coaches voted for the same player since 2010, when Penn's Ali DeLuca was unanimously selected Player of the Year. Lloyd is the first Tiger to be a unanimous choice for Player of the Year since Rachael Becker in 2003. Lloyd was a force all over the field, finishing with 28 points on 24 goals and four assists, while leading the team in draw controls (32) and finishing tied for first in ground balls (20). She also caused 11 turnovers on the year and was a unanimous selection to the first team for the second-consecutive season.

Markham also was unanimously voted to the first team for the second-straight year. She finished the regular season with team-highs in ground balls (41), draw controls (32) and caused turnovers (35) and was a two-time Defensive Player of the Week. She is third in the nation with 2.5 caused turnovers per game and ranks second in the League in ground balls (2.9). Thanks in large part to Markham's play, the Quakers rank first in the League in caused turnovers (9.43) and goals against average (7.71).

Co-champion and 2014 Ivy League Women's Lacrosse Tournament host Princeton led the way with four players on the first team, including another unanimous selection in senior defender Colleen Smith (Wilmette, Ill.). Joining Smith and Lloyd on the first team are juniors Erin McMunn (Westminster, Md.) and Erin Slifer (Mt. Airy, Md.).

Smith ranks second on the team in caused turnovers (14), while tallying 13 ground balls and 16 draw controls. She also recorded four points on a goal and three assists from her defensive position. Smith takes home her first career All-Ivy honor.

McMunn, the 2012 Rookie of the Year and 2013 Attacker of the Year, leads the team in points (41) and goals (30). She earns her second-straight first-team accolade and third career All-Ivy honor, as she was named to the second team in 2012. Slifer takes home her first All-Ivy since 2012, when she received honorable mention.

Penn, which shared the League title with the Tigers, placed three on the first team. Joining Markham are sophomore attack Nina Corcoran (Point Lookout, N.Y.) and junior goalie Lucy Ferguson (Montclair, N.J.). Corcoran earns her first career All-Ivy honor after a regular season in which she led the team in assists (19) and finished second in points (38) and third in goals (20). Ferguson is a two-time Defensive Player of the Week who leads the League in goals against average (7.66) and save percentage (.473).

Brown was next with a pair of first-team performers in seniors Bre Hudgins (Syracuse, N.Y.) and Erin Roos (Wilmette, Ill.). Hudgins led the Bears with 40 goals, third-best in the League, to become the first Bear to be named to the first team in back-to-back years since Paris Waterman (2010 & 2011). Roos posted 30 caused turnovers, 22 ground balls, nine draw controls and two goals en route to her third-straight All-Ivy honor and first as a member of the first team.

Dartmouth, Harvard and Yale each had one first team recipient. Big Green sophomore midfielder Jaclyn Leto (Chatham, N.J.) earns her first career All-Ivy honor after leading the team with 34 goals and ranking second with 41 points.

Crimson sophomore midfielder Audrey Todd (Baltimore) opened the season with six points (4g, 2a) in the first six games. Over the final nine contests, however, Todd posted 22 goals and five assists, including five games with at least three goals. She receives All-Ivy honors for the second-straight year after being named to the second team in 2013.

Yale sophomore attacker Nicole Daniggelis (St. James, N.Y.) shattered the Ivy League single-season record in draw controls, recording 104 on the year, 22 better than the previous record set by Dartmouth's Sarah Plumb in 2012. Daniggelis also had career highs in assists (12) and points (51) and became the first Bulldog to be named to the first team in her first two seasons since Lauren Taylor, who earned four-straight such honors from 2005-08.  

Columbia was represented on the All-Ivy teams by freshman midfielder Taylor Quinn (Radnor, Pa.), who earned second-team honors, and senior midfielder Paige Cuscovitch (Longmeadow, Mass.), who was named honorable mention. Quinn led the Lions in draw controls (52) and ground balls (47) and finished second in goals (24) and points (27) to Cuscovitch, who posted 33 points on 29 goals and four assists in her final campaign.

Lindsay Toppe, Cornell (Jr., A – Bedford, N.Y.)

*Sarah Lloyd, Princeton (Sr., M – Severna Park, Md.)

Meg Markham, Penn (Jr., D – Manhasset, N.Y.)

Nina Corcoran, Penn (So., A – Point Lookout, N.Y.)
Nicole Daniggelis, Yale (So., A – St. James, N.Y.)
Bre Hudgins, Brown (Sr., A – Syracuse, N.Y.)
Erin McMunn, Princeton (Jr., A – Westminster, Md.)
*Lindsay Toppe, Cornell (Jr., A – Bedford, N.Y.)
Jaclyn Leto, Dartmouth (So., M – Chatham, N.J.)
*Sarah Lloyd, Princeton (Sr., M – Severna Park, Md.)
Erin Slifer, Princeton (Jr., M – Mt. Airy, Md.)
Audrey Todd, Harvard (So., M - Baltimore)
*Meg Markham, Penn (Jr., D – Manhasset, N.Y.)
Erin Roos, Brown (Sr., D – Wilmette, Ill.)
*Colleen Smith, Princeton (Sr., D – Wilmette, Ill.)
Lucy Ferguson, Penn (Jr., GK – Montclair, N.J.)

Tory Bensen, Penn (Sr., A – Darien, Conn.)
Liz Calby, Dartmouth (Sr., A – Darien, Conn.)
Jen DeVito, Yale (Sr., A – Wading River, N.Y.)
Danielle Mastro, Brown (Sr., A – Endicott, N.Y.)
Marisa Romeo, Harvard (Fr., A – Syracuse, N.Y.)
Sarah Hefner, Cornell (Jr., M – Bel Air, Md.)
Taylor Quinn, Columbia (Fr., M – Radnor, Pa.)
Lindsey Smith, Penn (Sr., M – West Chester, Pa.)
Liz Bannantine, Princeton (So., D – Baltimore)
Tayt Foussadier, Penn (Jr., D – Turnersville, N.J.)
Claire MacManus, Cornell (Jr., D – Rosemont, Pa.)
Adrienne Tarver, Yale (Sr., D – Pikesville, Md.)
Kristen Giovanniello, Dartmouth (Sr., GK – Old Brookville, N.Y.)

Paige Cuscovitch, Columbia (Sr., M – Longmeadow, Mass.)
Lely DeSimone, Penn (So., M – Airmont, N.Y.)
Christina Doherty, Yale (Jr., M – Bernardsville, N.J.)
Rachel Moody, Cornell (Sr., A – Burke, Va.)
Isabella Wager, Harvard (So., D – Saratoga Springs, N.Y.)
Kelly Weis, Harvard (So., GK – Garden City, N.Y.)

* Unanimous Selection
^ Due to ties in voting, the first and second teams were expanded to 13