Site Navigation

Wrestling All-Ivy -- 2013

Wrestling All-Ivy -- 2013

PRINCETON, N.J. -- Cornell senior Kyle Dake is a three-time NCAA national champion, a three time All-American, a two-time EIWA Wrestler of the Year, a two-time EIWA champion and the 2009-10 Ivy League Rookie of the Year, and now he can add Ivy League Wrestler of the Year to his resume.

After a vote by the League's six coaches, Dake (Ithaca, N.Y.) was unanimously voted Wrestler of the Year to give Cornell five-straight such awards. Dake is the first unanimous selection for the honor since Cornell's Mack Lewnes in 2008-09.

The Big Red swept the postseason awards, as freshman Nehshon Garrett (Chico, Calif.) was unanimously voted Rookie of the Year. It marks the first time one team took both awards since 2009-10, when Cornell's Lewnes shared Wrestler of the Year with Harvard's J.P. O'Connor and Dake was named Rookie of the Year, and the first time one team was the lone recipient of both honors since 2008-09, when Cornell's Lewnes (Wrestler of the Year) and Cam Simaz (Rookie of the Year) were the winners.

Dake is undefeated on the year with a 28-0 record, including a 5-0 mark in League action. He ranks second in the country with 16 falls and third in the NCAA's Most Dominant Wrestler standings, which is calculated by adding the total number of points awarded through match results and dividing it by the total number of matches wrestled. Dake pinned all five of his League opponents en route to his fourth-straight undefeated Ivy season.

Dake, ranked No. 1 at 165 by Intermat, also was unanimously voted first-team All-Ivy, marking his fourth-consecutive All-Ivy honor and his third unanimous selection to the first team.

Garrett is Cornell's first Rookie of the Year since Dake in 2009-10. The freshman 125-pounder is 34-4 on the season and leads his team in victories and major decisions (11). He has a team-high seven technical falls, which ranks third in the country.

Garrett is 5-0 in Ivy League action, with four major decisions. He was also a unanimous selection to the All-Ivy first team, the first Big Red freshman to make the first team since Dake, who earned the honor by unanimous vote in 2009-10.

Besides Dake and Garrett, five other wrestlers were unanimous picks to the All-Ivy first team: Columbia senior Steve West (174 – Fresno, Calif.), Cornell senior Steve Bosak (184 – State College, Pa.), Harvard senior Walter Peppelman (157 – Harrisburg, Pa.) and Penn teammates Jeff Canfora (So., 133 – East Hanover, N.J.) and Micah Burak (Sr., 197 – Colorado Springs, Colo.).

Rounding out the first team is Columbia senior Steve Santos (149 – Brick, N.J.), Cornell sophomore Jacob Aiken-Phillips (285 – Lawrenceville, Ga.) and Harvard senior Steven Keith (141 – Shoreham, N.Y.).

Canfora takes home his first career All-Ivy award. The sophomore is 10-6 on the year, including a 4-1 mark in Ivy League bouts with two major decisions.

Keith, a first-team All-Ivy recipient for the second-straight year, is ranked No. 11 at 141 by Intermat. He leads Harvard with 25 victories on the year, as opposed to just six losses, and he surpassed 100 wins for his career during the season. In Ivy bouts this year, he is 5-0, including an 11-4 decision over No. 12 C.J. Cobb of Penn.

Santos is the fifth-ranked wrestler at 149 by Intermat. He is 22-2 on the year with four falls, two major decisions and a technical fall. He is tied for the team lead in victories and is 4-0 in Ivy action. Santos earns his third-straight All-Ivy honor and his second-consecutive first team award.

Peppelman is currently ranked No. 7 at 157 by Intermat. In League matches, he is 5-0 with a technical fall, and he is 15-2 on the year with three falls, three major decisions and two tech falls. Peppelman takes home his third-straight All-Ivy honor and finds himself on the first team for the second time.

West is tied with Santos with 22 victories to lead Columbia. He is 5-0 in Ivy bouts, including one fall and leads the team with six pins on the year. West earns his second-straight first-team All-Ivy honor.

Bosak is 15-9 on the year, with five major decisions. In Ivy bouts, he is 5-0 with two falls and a major decision. Bosak is ranked No. 4 at 184 by Intermat and takes home his fourth All-Ivy honor and his third-straight unanimous All-Ivy first team accolade.

Burak is ranked No. 9 at 197 by Intermat. The senior is 5-0 in Ivy League action this season, with one major decision. On the season, he is 12-2. Burak earns his first All-Ivy first team honor after being named to the second team for three-straight seasons.

Aiken-Phillips earns his first career All-Ivy honor. He is 3-0 in League matches this season, with one pin. For the season, he is 15-8 with five falls and two major decisions.

Penn placed five wrestlers on the second team, as senior Mark Rappo (125 – Holland, Pa.), freshman Casey Kent (165 – Norristown, Pa.), sophomore Ian Korb (174 – Cincinnati), sophomore C.J. Cobb (141 – Williamstown, N.J.) and junior Steven Graziano (285 – Syossett, N.Y.) earned the distinction.

Rappo earns his third All-Ivy honor after being named to the second team in 2009-10 and 2010-11, while Graziano takes home his second-straight All-Ivy award after taking home first team accolades last season. Kent, Korb and Cobb all receive their first career postseason honors.

Columbia, Cornell and Harvard each saw two wrestlers make the second team. For the Lions, junior Matt Bystol (133 – Libertyville, Ill.) and senior Jake O'Hara earn their first career All-Ivy accolades, while Cornell junior Chris Villalonga (149 – Totowa, N.J.) receives his second-straight second team award and senior Stryker Lane (285 – Redvale, Colo.) his second All-Ivy honor after earning Honorable Mention status as a sophomore.

Brown sophomore Ophir Bernstein (184 – Allen, Texas) receives his second All-Ivy accolade after being named Honorable Mention last year, while Harvard sophomores Ryan Osleeb (133 – Carmel, N.Y.) and James Fox (197 – Plainfield, N.J.) each earn their first career All-Ivy selections.

*Kyle Dake, Cornell (Sr., 165 – Ithaca, N.Y.)

*Nahshon Garrett, Cornell (Fr., 125 – Chico, Calif.)

*Nahshon Garrett, Cornell (Fr., 125 – Chico, Calif.)
*Jeff Canfora, Penn (So., 133 – East Hanover, N.J.)
Steven Keith, Harvard (Sr., 141 – Shoreham, N.Y.)
Steve Santos, Columbia (Sr., 149 – Brick, N.J.)
*Walter Peppelman, Harvard (Sr., 157 – Harrisburg, Pa.)
*Kyle Dake, Cornell (Sr., 165 – Ithaca, N.Y.)
*Steve West, Columbia (Sr., 174 – Fresno, Calif.)
*Steve Bosak, Cornell (Sr., 184 – State College, Pa.)
*Micah Burak, Penn (Sr., 197 – Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Jacob Aiken-Phillips, Cornell (So., 285 – Lawrenceville, Ga.)

Mark Rappo, Penn (Sr., 125 – Holland, Pa.)
Matt Bystol, Columbia (Jr., 133 – Libertyville, Ill.)
Ryan Osleeb, Harvard (So., 133 – Carmel, N.Y.)
C.J. Cobb, Penn (So., 141 – Williamstown, N.J.)
Chris Villalonga, Cornell (Jr., 149 – Totowa, N.J.)
Jake O'Hara, Columbia (Sr., 157 – Mountaintop, Pa.)
Casey Kent, Penn (Fr., 165 – Norristown, Pa.)
Ian Korb, Penn (So., 174 – Cincinnati)
Ophir Bernstein, Brown (So., 184 – Allen, Texas)
James Fox, Harvard (So., 197 – Plainfield, N.J.)
Stryker Lane, Cornell (Sr., 285 – Redvale, Colo.)
Steven Graziano, Penn (Jr., 285 – Syosset, N.Y.)

Jeff Ott, Harvard (Fr., 125 – Chelmsford, Mass.)
Bricker Dixon, Cornell (So., 133 – Kansas City, Mo.)
Mike Nevinger, Cornell (Jr., 141 – Perry, N.Y.)
Zach Bintliff, Princeton (Sr., 149 – Gladstone, Mo.)
Jesse Shanaman, Cornell (Jr., 157– Blairstown, N.J.)
Giuseppi Lanzi, Brown (Jr., 165 – Amsterdam, N.Y.)
Cameron Croy, Harvard (Jr., 174 – Brentwood, Tenn.)
Canaan Bethea, Penn (Jr., 184 – Trenton, N.J.)
Jace Bennett, Cornell (So., 197 – Amarillo, Texas)
Nick Gajdzik, Harvard (Fr., 285 – Rochester, Mich.)

* Unanimous selection
^ Due to ties in the voting, the second All-Ivy team was expanded from 10