Site Navigation

Women's Soccer All-Ivy -- 2011

Harvard's Melanie Baskind was named the 2011 Ivy League Player of the Year
Harvard's Melanie Baskind was named the 2011 Ivy League Player of the Year

PRINCETON, N.J. -- After leading Harvard to its first undefeated Ivy League season since 1999, Crimson senior forward Melanie Baskind was a unanimous selection for Player of the Year as the League released its 2011 All-Ivy teams and postseason individual awards.

Yale freshman forward Melissa Gavin was named Rookie of the Year, becoming the second Bulldog in the past three years to earn that award, joining Kristen Forster, who received Co-Rookie of the Year honors in 2009.

Baskind's award marks the second-consecutive season a Crimson player earned the honor, as Katherine Sheeleigh took home Player of the Year in 2010. Baskind finished her senior campaign with 24 points on eight goals and eight assists, all team-highs. She set personal-bests in both points and assists. Baskind led the Ivy League in shots per game, points per game and goals per game and tied for the conference lead in points, goals and assists. Baskind was unanimously voted to the first team as she took home her third-straight All-Ivy honor and her second-consecutive first team award. She was named Ivy League Player of the Week on Sept. 26.

  Gavin led Yale with seven assists and finished second in both goals (six) and points (19). She placed third in the Ivy League in assists and assists per game, fifth in points and points per game, tied for sixth in goals and tied for eighth in goals per game. She was a two-time Ivy League Rookie of the Week (Oct. 10; Oct. 31) and she became the first Yale rookie to receive first team All-Ivy accolades since Christine Huang in 2003.

Brown defender Allison Kagawa joined Baskind as the other unanimous selection to the first team. Kagawa tallied two assists from her defensive position while helping the team shut out seven opponents, tying for second in the League. Kagawa's defensive unit limited opponents to 14 goals in 17 games, good for second-place in the conference.

Gavin was joined on the first-team by her teammate and fellow freshman Meredith Speck, marking the first time since 1995 that two rookies from the same team earned first team honors, when Harvard's Jaime Chu and Naomi Miller accomplished the feat.

The 2011 women's soccer All-Ivy teams were determined in a vote by the League's eight head coaches, as were the individual award winners.

Melanie Baskind, Harvard (Sr., F, Framingham, Mass.)*

Melissa Gavin, Yale (Fr., F, Duxbury, Mass.)

Allison Kagawa, Brown (Sr., B, Mililani, Hawaii)*
Lindsey Kowal, Harvard (Sr., B, East Meadow, N.Y.)    
Adrienne Lerner, Penn (Sr., B, Chevy Chase, Md.)    

Erin Beck, Penn (Jr., M, Fort Wayne, Ind.)
Sara Chehrehsa, Princeton (Sr., M, San Jose, Calif.)
Peyton Johnson, Harvard (So., M, Catonsville, Md.)
Enma Mullo, Yale (Sr., M, Floral Park, N.Y.)

Melanie Baskind, Harvard (Sr., F, Framingham, Mass.)*
Jen Hoy, Princeton (Jr., F, Sellersville, Pa.)
Melissa Gavin, Yale (Fr., F, Duxbury, Mass.)
Meredith Speck, Yale (Fr., F, Rockville Centre, N.Y.)

Sarah Banks, Penn (Jr., GK, Okemos, Mich.)
MC Barrett, Brown (So., GK, Ithaca, N.Y.)

Colleen Barry, Penn (Sr., B, LeGrangeville, N.Y.)
Sidra Bonner, Cornell (Sr., B, Denver)
Gloria Chun, Brown (Sr., B, Irvine, Calif.)
Becca Millock, Harvard (Sr., B, Loudonville, N.Y.)

Emma Brush, Dartmouth (Jr., M, Grosse Pointe Park, Mich.)
Meg Casscells-Hamby, Harvard (Fr., M, Winter Park, Fla.)
Chrissy Lozier, Dartmouth (So., M, Fairfield, Conn.)
Liz Wicks, Columbia (Sr., M, Hungerford, England)

Kathryn Barth, Penn (So., F, Bethesda, Md.)
Marin McDermott, Penn (Sr., F, Rhinebeck, N.Y.)

Megan Bartlett, Cornell (Sr., GK, Yorba Linda, Calif.)

Kim Menafra, Princeton (Sr., B, Jackson, N.J.)
Aurelia Solomon, Dartmouth (Jr., B, Washington)

Sarah Herbert-Seropian, Brown (Sr., M, Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec)
Lauren Lazo, Princeton (Fr., M, Scottsdale, Ariz.)

Maneesha Chitanvis, Cornell (Jr., F, Los Alamos, N.M.)
Ursula Lopez-Palm, Penn (Sr., F, Escondido, Calif.)
Eliza Marshall, Brown (Jr., F, North Andover, Mass.)
Ashlin Yahr, Columbia (Sr., F, Rancho Santa Fe, Calif.)

Lillian Klein, Columbia (Sr., GK, Mill Valley, Calif.)

* - unanimous selection
^ - due to ties in the voting, the first All-Ivy team was expanded from 11